You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Choose to be grateful and choose the right things to be grateful for.

in #life6 years ago

Yep, we were young @dissfordents. I was 17.5 and she was a couple of weeks from turning 16. We were introduced by a mutual friend in 1987. In 1993 we got married, on the day of her 22nd birthday. I was 23.5 years old.

My wife uses an ointment made from the milk of a koala combined with essence of platypus, with crushed kangaroo eyeballs...Ok, so nah, nothing like that! To be honest she should look ancient considering she's had to deal with me for 30 years but she looks after herself and hasn't changed much really. She is vegetarian (don't hold that against her, she's not one of those annoying ones) has never smoked and doesn't drink alcohol, same with me really although I'll have a drink every so often, and I was only vegetarian for about two hours, the fad wore off pretty quickly between lunch and dinner that day. I don't know what the secret is to be honest.

Sounds like you and your wife have got a good thing going too huh? I often wonder what the secret to it is and have never really come up with an answer. Patience. understanding, passion, tolerance, honesty, humour, ebb and flow, give and take...All of those I'm sure, but it goes beyond that doesn't it.

Thanks for the nice comments bro. My wife would throw a fit if she knew I posted pictures of here. Have done it a couple of times...Never ended well once she found out. I'm not going to tell her this time...It's not dishonesty, it's...Well, yeah, it's actually dishonesty. Shh...

Sort:  

This just cracks me up. The first time I asked my wife out her mother said no, not until she turned 16. When we married she was 21, I was 20.
Pictures? I was thinking of doing a few posts, a three part thing like the domes, on the city of Lucca in Tuscany. My wife’s maternal and paternal grandparents were all born there so we spent a couple days in the walled city. Problem is, she’s in half the pictures. I had no idea I would be doing Steemit when I took them and used her for a subject. She tells me she doesn’t want her picture all over the Internet. We’ll see.

I find people’s stories fascinating however Inunderstand your wife’s reluctance to have her picture on the internet. I don’t blame her really. Maybe you could do a series of posts and simply use a stock image, giving the photographer credit? I use unsplash for stock images. I haven’t been to Lucca but have heard it’s a nice place. Hopefully you decide to do the the posts on it.