Sort:  

Awesome to meet fellow homesteaders on here! I started a project called Food is Free Project. After planting a front yard garden and realizing how much I interacted with neighbors, I had a vision wondering what it'd be like if a whole block had front yard gardens.

I felt the call and got together with neighbors and friends and we built raised bed gardens out of salvaged wooden pallets and within 3 months, 19 of the 30 houses on our block had a front yard garden.

The idea was that we could swap harvests with each other to build community. After blogging about it, the project went open source and I encouraged others to take our ideas and make them better.

Now over 350 cities around the world have started Food is Free Projects and are growing and sharing food with #foodisfree to spread the inspiration. :)

Wow. That is just absolutely amazing. I would love to start this in my town. I live in a small town so it is filled with gardeners and homesteaders and farmers. Upvoted and re steemed. Thanks

Thanks so much for sharing the vision! I'd love to offer any advice I can along the way. I've been learning a lot of different ideas from the different projects around the world. I'm so inspired by the connections I've been making including all of these on here. :)