You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Vlog 197: Taxes and the STEEM blockchain - A tough puzzle.

in #life6 years ago

Thanks for the honest advice. We are pioneers. My daughter called for advice from my sister who is a US accountant. My daughter is planning to make money in 2018 on Steemit and wanted to know how it would affect her small business taxes here in US. My sister said all the same you did AND another good advice. You are taxed on income at the rate at the time earned. So if it is worth one dollar in Feb but 10 dollar in Dec, you pay tax on the one dollar, as it was the time you earned it. However, you must be able to document all... so continually snapshot your steemit earnings, as you earn it, then at end of year, base your tax on the earning at date, not at its earnings through growth. You will save and it is legal, I think that is how she described it. I don't give financial advice, I teach so my taxes are a joke they are so little, but You are an honest man, so I wanted to pass that on. I would seek the advice of a second accountant, if I were you. Honesty is commendable. The Lord smiled today over this video. Blessings.