Violence in the home, is totally unacceptable

in #life6 years ago

argument-3312463_1280.png
Source

As a parent, your job is to raise your kids to be good members of the society. Family is the basic building block of the society and if there isn't peace and love in the family, the society will be affected.

Most parents aren't aware of the fact that, constant violence in the home can have psychological effects on their kids. The brain stores information, both consciously and unconsciously. So kids can be influenced by constant exposure to violence. They develop aggressive behaviours and think its ok to be violent, because they see their parents fighting.

Most bullies, didn't just wake up one day and decided to be bullies. Sometimes they take what they see at home and decide to do the same to their peers. Parents should ensure that the home is peaceful, so their kids can be happy.

Even as adults, kids that grew up in violent environments, tend to act violently towards their spouse and other people. They are confrontational and aggressive. This tends to affect their relationships.

As a parent, you should:

  • Never fight in front of your kids.
  • Shout at your spouse in the presence of your kids.
  • Don't transfer aggression to them.
  • Don't make them feel violence is acceptable and the way to solve issues.
  • Always talk to them,when they are wrong and even after punishing them.
  • Teach them to respect others, regardless of age.

Be a role model to your kids, you owe it to God, them, yourself and the society.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by gbanksreps from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

I totally agree that children need to be raised in a peaceful home environment and have good role models. I did NOT come from such a home. My father was an abusive alcoholic and my earliest memories are of domestic violence that continued throughout my entire childhood. And I'm sure it's true that some children raised in that type of household do grow up to repeat the pattern. But there are also those of us who did the exact opposite. My brother and I both have never had the slightest tendency toward alcoholism or domestic violence. We remember the scars that we carry and determined to never do that to our families.

Its so sad that you had to experience such. My childhood also had a lot of violence in it, but it was a different situation.
Good thing, you and your brother wasn't influenced by it. I know not everyone that grew up in those kind of homes, end up violent.
I should have added that to my post

Please don't think I was criticizing your article. I just wanted to put in my two cents with my own experience, it is hard to break the chain of violence. I'm sorry that you had a violent childhood as well. No one should have to live in fear of violence in the one place they should feel peace and sanctuary - their own home.

Posted using Partiko Android

Not at all. I didn't feel like, you were criticizing my article. I just realized that i didn't state in my post that, not every kid who grew up in a violent home, turn out violent. I really do appreciate your comment