My introduction to PEAKD

in #life2 years ago (edited)

Hi, nice to meet you,

since I feel something beautiful is growing here on peakd, I would like to introduce myself a little further to the community. My name is Alexander, I am a husband & father of two, photographer and occasional author. My work is mostly in portrait photography and I also enjoy storytelling, teaching and writing. My last print publication is a book on business photography but I also write, edit and re-edit articles for my blog about the many topics that inspire me to learn new things. Three of these topics are the world of crypto, gaming and investing.

The new world (again)

Having been born in a country that does not exist anymore is not really bothering me, but teaches me a few things:

When the wall came down and the German Democratic Republic was "liquidated", it was a perfect chaos like in the Wild West again. There was only one problem: the natives had no horses nor hats, while only a few were smart enough to realize the endless opportunities in the year after the reunification of Germany. Most valuables have been difficult to be valued, there have been times, when I paid 4 Deutsche Marks for 1 liter of freshly pressed orange juice. On the larger scale: many properties have been sold for a few "Deutsche Marks" that have been worth 100 or 1000 times more. Why? Because only a few dared to invest, when most wanted to walk away quickly. The people had to adapt to a whole new "system" with a lot of opportunities, for those who were able to reflect and adapt accordingly. But few became owners, since their mentality did not allow them to see the value of their own property. (Why did they not buy and hold? Do you see some similarities)

My biggest dream is to see, understand and capture the little magic happening every day

In my experience photography is a great tool to share stories, make everlasting memories from moments and build bridges to places far away. Images speak every language and a person with a sincere smile and a camera can get far. Now this digital world keeps on opening up almost endless opportunities and I would like to learn more about how this world works and what is useful in the end. There is more to this world, than just taking beautiful pictures.

Let's put light on the different angles, learn and collect the stories that happen on the pathways.

I am looking forward to be part of a community of explorers and story-tellers. I already found one, that somehow always inspires me to take the next step @hatoto thank you!

Good Light to All!

Family__ALX8920.jpg

Dear @lovesniper as requested a little further intro with a portrait :)

Sort:  

Welcome on board! "There is more to this world, than just taking beautiful pictures." So well said! Love your socks and portrait too. :)

Thanks for the welcome. yes, even though I work in photography its just a tool - we can learn to take beautiful images and connect them with a message we like to communicate.