You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Cannot Sit Still / Я Не Могу Сидеть Спокойно

in #life3 years ago

I’d wondered where you’d wandered off too, three weeks in the company of nature sounds divine! Goats not so much🙃 (j/k lol).

That airship is fabulous! Glad you’re back.

Sort:  

Thanks! I put the finishing touches on it last night, and now I need to proofread the next post before I publish. I also have an unscheduled PSA I need to write about invasive species, because I caught a spotted lanternfly earlier today - as if I didn't already have enough trouble with stinkbugs!

As someone who currently has a baker's dozen pine beetles lurking about, I will wholeheartedly enjoy and upvote your PSA, I am so over invasive species, plant, animal, and insect alike!

Insects are animals too, you know! I get where you're coming from, though. I may have to grit my teeth and start another flock of guinea fowl to keep the bugs under control.

LOL! Yes, yes they are, but they deserve their own special mention for pure numbers and invasive domination power!

I kept a confusion (boy is that ever an apt descriptor!) of guineas for years. They really are awesome at insect control and great guard animals, but boy do they ever have a built-in death wish. I do miss the eggs though, hard as a rock shells and super tasty. When we built our house, our 8 guineas stood on the peak of our barn roof and screamed at the contractors for hours, it was hilarious!

The proper term for a flock of guineas is confusion?! You're right, that is an apt description! My family had 25 of them when I was a kid, and the last of them died quite recently when the mink ravaged everyone's birds. I am so tempted to order some peafowl along with guinea keets next spring, even though I don't yet have a place to house them.

Oh, so sorry about the mink massacre, that bites. I keep meaning to get a few keets every spring, but things just keep getting in my way lol, honestly though, baby guineas are just the cutest things, and it cracks me up that something so cute can grow up into something a little less, ahem, attractive. My mom always called the German War Helmets (affectionately of course), this conversation has really reminded me of how much we enjoyed having them around.

And peafowl too! We had a peacock just wander onto the farm one year, he stayed all summer, roosting on the roof of my hay shed at night, such a lovely guy. Hope to see a fowl post from you this spring😁