You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Defeat Negative People

in #life6 years ago

I want to lead a private life, pass unnoticed and whatnot, because I feel that humanity is mostly hostile to me, but at the same time I get ideas about things that can be done, things that need to be said, and then if I don't express them I feel that I am wasting the gift of my life and the gift of getting these ideas.

I do get a rush from creativity, too. Helping others is nice. I still get comments about an intro to steemit video I made 18 months ago. And, indeed, when someone is saying something stupid or engaging in dishonesty, I love proving them wrong or outing them. Also, I learn from opposition, debate, discord, disagreement, so I need that from time to time.

What about you? What motivates you to create?

Sort:  

To create is divine. I believe that is our main purpose. It's what makes me feel alive. It's how I contribute to the world. Whether it's a new recipe, a piece of art or music or simply a new way of looking at something, creativity is what drives us.

That being said, over the last decade of being a parent, I've let much of that drive collect dust and it's left me questioning myself, my self-worth, my purpose. Only recently, since life has slowed down a bit, have I realized this and just how important it is that I model creativity for my kids. It's part of proper self-care, like proper nutrition, hygiene and physical activity.

if I don't express them I feel that I am wasting the gift of my life and the gift of getting these ideas.

I agree. For example, I've only recently begun sharing original songs that I wrote 20 yrs ago because I don't want them going to my grave with me someday. Finally through Steemit, I have an avenue to share my creativity.