Afraid of eating alone in PUBLIC!

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I was a person who never did things alone. I have never watched a movie alone, never shopped alone, and I have never never NEVER ate alone in public.

If I was hungry, but I can’t find anyone to accompany me to eat, either I won’t eat at all, or I’ll “tapau” my food and eat it on my desk.

giphy-facebook_s.jpg
this was me
source: https://giphy.com/gifs/college-problems-life-crisis-S0yHXpkqkgR4Q

Just the thought of eating alone in public makes me shiver with discomfort and awkwardness. I was afraid what others would think about me:

“awe, that poor girl eating alone. She has no friend. Poor girl. She must be so lonely.”

Then one day, the year was 2016, I was having a conversation with this guy, who is very very VERY comfortable being alone.

He told me he goes swimming alone at the beach, went to watch a movie alone, sat alone at the bleachers to watch a football match, and eating alone in public was a norm to him.

I WAS SHOCKED! Poor guy… where are his friends? Why is he doing all these things alone?

And he said this sentence that changed my life forever, “If you can’t be happy being alone, how are you supposed to be happy with someone in the future?

Once he said that, I felt like I was resurrected from the dead. I was once lost, now I am found. I was once in darkness, and now I see the light! I was reborn! Because he was right! How will I ever be happy with anyone, if I can’t even be happy or be comfortable with myself?

Today, I am very comfortable to drink coffee by myself at the coffee shop, or even eat alone in a restaurant. I was just enjoying being with just me, myself, and I.


Image source from: https://www.theodysseyonline.com/why-love-eating-alone

Before we can love anyone, always remember to love yourself first.

With much love,
@georginni

Sort:  

nice article and interesting story but the last line"Before we can love anyone, always remember to love yourself first" is too good thanks for post,ans keep it up. and feel free to visit my post.

Thank you. Will check out your post as well.

Being alone comfortably is a sign of strong sense of self confidence. I love to be alone especially when my professional life revolve around people all day long. Having alone time give me time to dialogue with myself about the day.

Yeah... Took me a long time to realize that. hehe

Hi there..

Osem & interesting post!!

thank you!

Trully said... we must love ourself before we love other people

truly indeed 👍🏼

Good one!! Interesting story!!