Stop pleasing others, it is time to think about yourself for a change! Your daily motivation!

in #life6 years ago

                                    

Image source

Most of us are under a large amount of stress in our daily lives. Stress is not good for any of us. It makes us old before our time, and possibly do things that we would not have normally done. 

Have you ever been in a situation where you feel so anxious and then stress literally just takes over?  Once stress is in charge, everything goes haywire!


We all have our own ways to deal with our daily stress levels. Some people start over-eating, some people chew off their nails, and some people try and relieve stress by drinking, but most of these named above,  are not really healthy options.

So what do you do if you come to a crossroad, and you really don't know how to handle a situation?

               

Image source

Do you grab a cigarette, an alcoholic drink or a handful of anxiety tablets?

Hmmm wrong choice!

Stop, breath and relax! (Don't start panicking!)

Say it out loud..... Stop. Breath and relax.  

Now you ask yourself this question: 

What is the worse that can happen if I make the wrong choice?

Once you have the answer to that question, then you can make a valid decision.  

In my life, I have learned that nothing is ever as difficult as it seems. We are often scared of new things, and we don't like to take chances. We often get to a point in life, where we are stuck and we don't know which road to take, but I have also learned that we learn from our mistakes.  There are in fact, no right, or wrong turns in life.  

I believe that we are where we are at a specific time and place, because we are supposed to be there. Life works in mysterious ways, and if you are in a place at this time and moment, then that is exactly where you are supposed to be. 

Everything in life, works out the way it is supposed to! Not much to think about there!  I honestly don't think we really have many choices in life, and I am a strong believer in the laws of nature. The only way that you will ever get ahead in life, is if you take that next step. Do not overthink it. Overthinking something might kill the feeling, and your chances may be lost. 

It is time that you start thinking about yourself! 

Remember the following:

  • You cannot please all the people all the time. 
  • Stop stressing about what could have been, and start focusing on what is going on right now. 
  • Stop stressing about hurting other people's feelings.  They will get over it.
  • Stop thinking about what happened already and focus on things that are still coming. 
  • Trust your gut feeling.
  • Stop worrying about making the wrong choices, they might be the right ones after all. 

“He who deliberates fully before taking a step will spend his entire life on one leg.” ~ Chinese Proverb   


Sort:  

The stress of expectation is so real. It starts at school and is recurrent throughout life in different forms. It's even worse when people set unrealistic bars for themselves. They're almost doomed to fail. Thanks for the motivanal words.

Exactly my outlook this year...

Hmmm I want to see that first! It think the time for us to take a dive is closer than we think.

Hi @giantbear, I love your article!

Here's a paragraph from my week-old post that goes very well with your thoughts:

We must relax, stop struggling, stop trying so hard, stop manipulating people to try to get what we want. Once we have become accustomed to stop doing so much (letting go) and just being for a while (live the moment), we can live a much happier life.

A couple of hours ago I also wrote about accepting our dark side, feel free to check it out if you find that interesting.

It seems to me that we like very similar topics, I've followed you.

Cheers! : )

Very motivating and yes most of the time we live to please others! We should be totally independent of the good and bad opinions from others. Opinions are like ghosts, they become real if we start to believe in them. Thank you for sharing this @giantbear ! I followed you.

I believe my motivational blog on how to deal with negativity can give you VALUE too, check it out :) https://steemit.com/motivation/@wild-forest/deal-with-negativity-the-cursed-panda-game

wonderful like your very nicely job.thank you so much.best of luck!

Extremely motivational.

That Chinese Proverb really says it all; look at nature everything has purpose and meaning, in nature I do not see evidence of stress, only life, living and death.

Humans build there own 'walls' and stress packs up around them, we are the only ones who are able to tear those walls down, crazy as it sounds, we all seem to walk down this road.

Oh you are so right @joanstewart!I am writing for myself again. I am very guilty of all of the above, and it usually helps me to write about something so that I can sort out my head.

I need couple books to read and a stress reliever

Nice piece. Stress is obviously a killer

Good work.... Very helpful

This is the truth :) Just do whatever you do best. You don't have to bother about what others think about you

The fear of getting started sometimes keeps us from going anywhere. Then the fear of failure also often haunts. But still sure what to do and do not despair, because God has set what is best for us. Nice motivation :D

Life can be stressful but it's no use stressing ourselves because it doesn't help us step up. I used to smoke cigarettes before when I'm stressed but now, rather than smoking, I choose to read posts on steemit and some of them are really good to read like your post today @giantbear. Awesome!

no doubt that stress is emerging as a global health issue and i strongly support your points......i do believe that everyone of us have regrets and failures in life and its a fact that we start thinking about what has passed and at that point we become victim to stress.....i like your points and i want to suggest one more point that is be patient work hard and don't expect too much from life and be realistic about your goals.

Exactly what I needed today.

You cannot please all the people all the time.

I've been trying to get that into my head for a while now, and I don't know why I can't... But I have to.

I just told @joanstewart above that I am literally writing for myself. Very true. You can't please them all. You have to start thinking about yourself!

Exactly. We need to stop pleasing other people. It never worked and never will. We can't satisfy everyone. All we gain by doing so is low self-esteem and feeling that we are never enough. Great post. Many people need to read this. :)

Definitely not. We need to please ourselves. Good luck!

Yeah i think its time!!!

Pleasing is alike with begging,,

Exactly like begging...

My sentiments exactly @giantbear! We try to control and overthink stuff way too often, I for one used to fall into that trap many a time especially when things go wrong. But I've learnt to trust that God has already worked out my path, and He has steered me in the right direction time and time again, and things work out in ways we could never have imagined!

The writing is very good, I think if we stress should be close to God, and invite family to travel
@giantbear good luck

I may be guilty of grabbing a bar of my emergency stock of chocolate...way better than pills. Very good advice though. I learned a long time that it is better to live life in a way that makes you happy and to stop worrying about performing for other people.

Hmmm i think i have learnt a lot from this article
thanks @giantbear

Thanks for sharing. A great article to which I don't have to add anything