Words matter

in #life7 years ago (edited)

                       

                       Image source

Have you ever said something inappropriate at the wrong time?  I definitely have, and my husband often tells me that I need to be a little bit more tactful. Sometimes, I don't even realize when I say something inappropriate, because in reality I believe that I am right.  I am a very straightforward person, and people and the things they say, easily annoys me. Perhaps the fact that I am a teacher and so used to rectifying my students, that it runs over to my private life.

This is something that I definitely need to work on.  Although I am usually right, I don't think of how my words can affect someone else. Often afterwards when I think about a scenario, I know I could have handled the situation differently.  The mere fact is, the power of words are unpredictable.  Unlike words on paper that can be edited afterwards, the words that we speak, will stay forever in someone's memory.  You know the saying, sticks and stones can break my bones, but words can never hurt me?  This is so untrue.  The power of words can hurt deeper than we think.  

William Shakespeare once said, “My words fly up, my thoughts remain below: Words without thoughts never to heaven go.” Our thoughts should control our words, and words without thinking always end up hurting others.    

I often see this in school, especially between the girls.  I call this verbal bullying. Girls can be very hurtful towards others, and there are always this group of girls that think they are better than the rest. They have influence.  They degrade others, and make them feel bad about themselves. 

But just as words can hurt you, words can also build you up.  It is important to think about your words carefully to make sure that you don't annoy someone, or even hurt them.  When someone needs some words of encouragement, then you need to do what you can to make that person feel better.  There is nothing like words that can build a person up.  Sometimes the right words at the right time, can help change a life.

                                           

Image source

Your words can change the world for someone today.  Make them count.


                                            

Image source

Please follow me

Sort:  

Absolutely beautiful, especially the quotation at the end.

Resteemed another amazing post which touched me

Hi Lorenzo how are you today? Thanks for the resteem. Appreciate it very much. You climbing yet?

Think about writing a book Yuvette, your writing is so inspiring and valuable. Another great piece of advice!!

Ha ha ha! Have always dreamed about writing a book. Perhaps not such a bad idea....but at least here I know that my writing has value and that people enjoy my work. Thank you for your kind words Manjit! :)

Writing a book will definitely work for your words! Words do matter and we will be helping using words in practical ways! Do you by any means have like a detailed list of your ged kids? Perhaps, you can mention many of them in a comment, let's start with giving a follow and leave some words for the currently active ones!
https://steemit.com/africa/@afro-naija-trail/afro-naija-trail-dedicated-to-growing-and-supporting-the-african-nigerian-steemit-community

You know, your book can benefit the future generations to come, go for it. You can take a year or two to finish it!
But time flies by once you start something.

Amen! ☆☆☆☆☆😎

I agree sometimes the best words are those not spoken. Listening is very important. Thanks for sharing. Upvoted and resteemed!

Hi @arnel thank you so much! Appreciate the resteem. Have a great day!

You too...

Great post! :)

Thank you @awriter! Appreciate your comment. Have a great day!

Great post @giantbear. Thanks

Hi @tonyr hope you have a great day! Thank you so much!

Great post!

Thank you @nezaigor. Appreciate your comment.