The BALLAD of the STOLEN PIGGY BANK :(

in #life6 years ago

Song to listen: Gary Jules - Mad World

I'm not even mad, I am just sad because human kind can go so low and do things like this.

Let me start from the beginning. In the past 6-7 years I started to save coins and put them, at the end of the day, in the piggy bank. How? Simple, when I get some change after spending some money I just put it in the pocket and when I come home I put everything in my big piggy band, even though it is big metal rounded can with 50 EUR printed on it. I always fill it to the top with coins (no matter how big it is) and then when I finish, I just crash it and change the coins into paper money... and of course at the end invest in something.

pixabaycom.jpg

(photo: www.pixabay.com)

I started with this one 5 months ago when I came to Portugal and I was putting only Euros in it - 1 and 2 EUR coins. It was quite big and during this 5 months I collected, for sure, up to 400-500 EUR and let's say it was full approx 1/3. Just to compare, before while I was collecting Kuna (HRK - Croatian currency) and I have never collected more than 300 EUR (1 EUR = 7,40 HRK (approx)).

To continue the story, I moved from Lisbon suburbs to Lisbon center (both company apartments) and since I moved together with @katarinazaja in one bedded room company promised to provide one more bed into the new room. We left room doors unlocked so people from company who will bring the extra bed can put bed on the position.

Disclaimer: Company always has the keys of the apartment for cases like this or emergency cases.

Bed came. Furniture was moved for bed to fit into the room. As soon as I came and saw that someone brought the bed I looked at the place where the piggy bank was. It was there... and I thought how foolish of me to put a piggy bank on such open place while we are expecting some strangers to enter our room but fine, everything went fine. We went to sleep...

dailymirrorcouk.jpg

(photo: www.dailymirror.co.uk)

Woke up at 6 AM to go to work. Everything as usual. We came back home around 5 PM completely clueless what happened while we were at work. After a while I remembered that I have 4 EUR to put into piggy bank and then... SHOCK! PIGGY BANK WASN'T IN THE PLACE WHERE IT STOOD FOR ALL THIS TIME! I asked @katarinazaja does she know where it is but she was shocked also.

"Is somebody kidding or what?" - she asked

We immediately contacted our flatmates and company... Flatmates told me that they aren't and I believe them (even I don't trust no one from now) so the only one who can do this filthy act is someone who was in our room before, and probably saw piggy bank, lift it and realized how heavy it is and came back while we were on work to steal it. How miserable you need to be to do that? What human scum you need to be to even think about it?

Long story short - we are waiting official explanation from the Company and them to identify who was in our room the day before piggy bank got stolen and then I will see what I can do, because I don't have any evidence that I had that piggy bank and there was no signs of breaking in... fucked up situation right?

500 EUR lighter I'm writing this post just to express my frustration somewhere and to warn you that you don't trust anyone.

Until better times...

... kind regards!

GG

Sort:  

In the wise words of the bulldog from Rio "That's messed up man"

I hope you find the perpetrator and get some kind of compensation.

Thank you for your hope but I kinda lost all of my hopes already regarding any refund. Corporations...