You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Public Speaking Fears- a Toastmasters Journey

in #life6 years ago

I also share your same fear. It's an odd fear. It's not that I'm terrified of it but I become less of my normal self. I say things that I otherwise wouldn't say if it was 1 on 1. Things that may or may not make sense that I look back and ask myself "what the hell did I just say?" It's a very foreign feeling, and so I just call it fear, and it may be the root cause that just manifests itself in slurred speech, nervousness, speaking fast, and a persona that I don't recognize to be myself. Public speaking is so strange to me.
I was also looking into toastmasters but their meetings around me are sooooo early. I'm not an early bird. Let's see if I can find some evening meetings. Thanks for sharing!

Sort:  

Good luck!! Mine is at lunch time right in the building I work at so it works out perfectly!!
You should maybe pick one and just go as a guest to see how you like it. I have become more comfortable speaking out loud in front of people since joining!
I think the biggest thing with public speaking is that you aren’t getting any response back like you would in a one on one conversation. It’s just you talking. I think that’s the part that makes me nervous!