Donating for a worthy cause....not money though.

in #life6 years ago

Donate Blood.png

I'm a regular card-holding (yes, you get a card) blood donor for the South African National Blood Service. And proudly so. I think everyone that is able should do their bit and donate blood on a regular basis. If you are allowed that is. My wife for instance is not allowed to donate as she is an asthmatic.

Due to some recent happenings in my life (fodder for another post later), I once again realized just how important and life-saving this simple act is. And it doesn't cost you a cent but can mean the difference between life and death for somebody else or their loved ones.

The pictures above was taken today while I was donating. I got that yummy Valentines day heart as a thank you gift. The wife is going to love it! She won't love the juice and cookies I also got, pretty much since I have already eaten it! :)

In South Africa the roads are dangerous (We don't have much of a public transport system). The death toll is always high and especially so during the holiday seasons. It is also during that time when a lot of people are travelling that our Blood Service is in desperate need for donations.

You can donate every two months (6 times a year). Donated blood only has a shelf life of 42 days so you can see they need to constantly replenish stock levels. If you are not currently a donor I urge you to consider it!

Sort:  

Upvoted by Proudly South African Steemians(@psas). You can follow us for more truely South African content.
If you are from South Africa, you are more than welcome to join us on Discord. https://discord.gg/xRznW7S