Making sure the answer is Yes!

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I'm married to a wonderful woman and I love her with all my heart. She is however my second wife, so I would say I was a little bit more street-wise the second time around.

One of those times when my experience came in handy was when I asked her parents for their blessing to marry their precious (though not only) daughter. It is still very much a tradition here that you don't even consider asking the women of your dreams for her hand in marriage before getting a blessing.

So unlike the first time I had to go ask the question, this time I had a plan.

First I took the wife to be and her parents to a nice restaurant. It was a seafood restaurant so things could get a bit pricey. I myself enjoyed a lovely plate of prawns (Photo proof attached).

Prawned.jpg

We had a great time with great food and great wine! Through the whole dinner I did not mention my intentions once, though I'm pretty sure the in-laws to be knew it was coming.

And so the evening came to an end and it was time to settle the bill. I made sure the waiter brought it straight to me. It was a nice pricey sum of money. And so my time came.

I got everybody's attention, holding the bill up for everyone to see, looked straight at my wife's dad and announced: Your answer to my next question will determine whether I'm paying the bill or you are paying the bill!

And so I went ahead and asked for their blessing. And they said YES. To be honest, they would have said Yes in any case, I'm that awesome (LOL), but it never hurts to have a plan!

The rest is history. I will save how I popped the question for a later post. And yes, I had a plan then too!

Sort:  

When I asked Anike's dad for permission we were already half-way drunk and very merry. The result is that the women nearly had to carry us home from the bar LOL.

Hahaha. That was the backup plan.

Future father-in-law should have paid anyway due to the fact he was about to get a great son-in-law....ahh hang on, youre not a whale yet. Arse licking not required lol ;-)

Don't worry, I'll remember you when I'm a whale!

Upvoted by Proudly South African Steemians(@psas). You can follow us for more truely South African content.
If you are from South Africa, you are more than welcome to join us on Discord. https://discord.gg/xRznW7S