How Jar Jar Saved Star Wars

in #life7 years ago (edited)

@Hanshotfirst has an amazing post up today on what Star Wars means to him and his kids. I highly recommend it.
https://steemit.com/life/@hanshotfirst/happy-40th-anniversary-to-star-wars-the-most-important-movie-of-my-life

I have a confession to make. I love Jar Jar Binks.

I'm not saying that to be edgy or iconoclastic. I really do like Jar Jar. He is a reminder that we shouldn't take ourselves or our mythology too seriously. He also highlights the changes go through as we age. The young, hungry and angry George Lucas that made Star Wars to achieve his artistic independence became an insulated Citizen Kane-esque figure who no one would say no to.

The result was over-estimating Jar Jar's ability to carry a major plot thread as a character and creating an unevenly-toned film. It reminds me of the outright slapstick passages in John Woo's Hong Kong gangster operas like The Killer and A Better Tomorrow.

I watched Tai Chi Master the other night with my wife and the tone of that movie was all over the place. It reminded me of Episode I.

Jar Jar is silly. He's low-brow comic relief. He's an obvious pander to 9 year olds with his Buster Keaton antics and his fart jokes. But, he's also an integral part of the plot. And the Gunguns are a noble and, frankly, very cool people. I like Jar Jar because he is an unfiltered glimpse into what's really going on in George Lucas' head.

And because, dammit, Gungans are cool.

Exsqeeze me, Mr. Boss Lucas sir did notten rapen your childhood!

Lucas is an incredibly brave man. He could have played it safe with Episode I. He could have given us exactly the movie we, as worldly 30 year olds, wanted. He could have pandered to us. When the Phantom Menace came out none of my friends had kids. Heck, only a few of us were married. We hadn't surrendered our lives to raising a sprog or three.

And it affected how we viewed The Phantom Menace.

But, I was a lonely voice back post-9/11. I always said I loved that movie. The tone didn't bother me. I found it fascinating to re-watch it looking for where it failed. I said hundreds of times, "Stop judging it by what you want it to be. Go ask a 10 year old and ask them what they think, because they were the target audience."

And, you know what? 9 year-olds love Episode I.

Don't get me wrong. I don't think The Phantom Menace is a good movie. But it is a movie I love, because it is a Star Wars film that takes me back to being nine without all the baggage that came with being nine. When I watch Star Wars I remember how hard things were back then. When I watch the Phantom Menace I let go of my image of myself and embrace that sense of wonder I wanted to last forever when I was nine.

And after the mess that was Attack of the Clones, where it was obvious Lucas was trying to make a movie that the fans wanted, I came to appreciate it even more. Because it is an honest film, for all of its faults. It was gestated in the vacuum of Lucas' personal playground without pretense.

No man would make a movie so tone-deaf to its target audience on purpose. Lucas had a plan. He executed that plan and didn't care if we went along with him. Because, to him, Star Wars was always about bigger things than his personal aggrandizement.

Jar Jar was Lucas' statement that worship of Star Wars was getting out of hand and that, first and foremost, Star Wars was for the children. That it spoke to adults as well was a bonus.

And by failing to deliver a film that the fan base could love it began the process of of realizing that Star Wars should never be put into the hands of people without anything to lose. It is the pressure of creating something great and that speaks across generations that is its power.

J.J. Abrams and Gareth Edwards both felt that enormous pressure to live up to the stories that they owed their lives to. They had to bring back a fan base that was scarred by substandard films from Lucas. They had to not just make great movies, they had to make great Star Wars Movies.

That's enough pressure to break lesser men. And it is that pressure that made both the Force Awakens and Rogue One great films in the end.

By all accounts both were a mess up until the final edit . The scripts were obviously lacking, demanding extensive re-shoots and reworking. Edwards shot footage willy-nilly and then assembled a final cut. But, the final products were brilliant because they had to deliver. That cauldron of doubt is what produces great art. It drove Lucas on the Star Wars and the Empire Strikes Back.

It wasn't there when he came up with Jar Jar as the driver for Padme's insurrection to take back Naboo. But, without the legacy of Jar Jar and the myriad faults in the prequel films, Star Wars would suffer today from a lack of failure.

And the children of Star Wars now in charge of the mythology know they can't rest on their laurels or assume the brand alone will ensure success. And, like it or not, we have Jar Jar to thank for that.

Sort:  

I do need to remind myself every once and a while that these movies were not made for adults. But... I think the Force Awakens did a far better job of remembering that kids also have brains and it is OK to tell a story that makes sense. They will get it.

Great post!

I agree. My daughter likes the Force Awakens better than TPM but still won't watch Han's death scene. It really crushed her. When we went to see it the first time I didn't realize it for a minute or so and I had to spend a few minutes consoling her.

She didn't see it again in the theaters. She refused.

When we went to see Rogue One I prepped her that these people may die (I knew everyone did) so that she could process it better, which she did. I asked her afterwards if she was okay with everyone dying and she said, "Yeah, they died for a good cause."

When Han died, my son put his hands in his pockets, his eyes filled with tears, and he shook his head for the rest of the movie. he kept saying, "I'm never watching this again." He was CRUSHED. We had to process that scene for the next two days. Then we saw it again on Saturday (we saw it opening night) and he was OK. He has seen it at least 7 times since.

If Michael Jackson would have got the JarJar role it would have been way better I think.

Congratulations @goldgoatsnguns! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!