Autistic friendly clothing.....wow what a great idea.

in #life8 years ago (edited)

Marks and Spencer yesterday announced that they are bringing out a range of autistic friendly school clothes, how amazing is this.
I am a parent of a child on that spectrum and it is something that was always an issue through school, from getting ready in a morning to sports times and having to get changed at school.
Buttons are torn off, trouser fastenings are broken you know the sort of thing I mean if you are a parent, even more so if you have a child within that spectrum.

You can read the full article here on the autism.org.uk website.. I for one am glad that this is coming to uk stores. I wonder if it is something that other countries have too.

http://www.autism.org.uk/get-involved/media-centre/news/2016-07-21-marks-and-spencer.aspx

Sort:  

This is great! I work with students with Autism and so many of them will only where certain types of pants or shirts. I remember hearing about another company who made clothing to help with sensory issues, but sorry can't remember the name. If I do I will post it.

Love how companies realise that lots of children need additional options in life.

I agree, this has been a long time coming and a real breakthrough. I hope that other companies follow suit and start to make things easier for children and adults who need more help. Clothes are a basic need and as such should be made easier to use when needed

Oh wow I will have to have a look! My daughter is still going through assessments to diagnose her autism xx

I think that it is a great idea, I wish they had done this years ago ! it launches on 1st aug

Hi @gowersgirl - I was actually assessed as high-functioning Asperger's as an adult...because my eldest son is an Aspie. Clothes were always an issue for him more so than for me. I've often thought about developing autism-friendly shirts (but I don't sew) - and I'm a huge fan of weighted blankets for comfort.

It is something I had considered years ago too, but would not have known where to begin. maybe i should have done something more than consider. .. It must have been strange being assessed as an adult, but in another way good to know? x

It's great when a company does something good!