Blue flames

in #life7 years ago

Last night Wheels and I decided to have a late night fire as it was a warm evening and we had company.

I had spent the day gardening so there was quite a lot to burn.

IMG_20170727_220613417.jpg

We only have a small fire pit but after a while the fire was glowing hot. I grabbed a few large marshmallows and had a cheeky snack of toasted ones! Well why not?

Wheels then had an idea to change the colour of the flames. Typical of him to be a pyromaniac. Who doesn't love playing with fire anyway?

IMG_20170727_220704920.jpg

There is something about flames and burning things that is mesmerising and appeals to humans.

Anyway, Wheels found the old bare copper wiring from where we rewired our home and put a few pieces on the fire. This created and turquoise and blue colour show which was most beautiful.

IMG_20170727_220709900.jpg

I remember as I child always playing with candles and really enjoying bonfire night (5th November). So much so my father banned me from having candles after one very real and scary incident.

Long story short I forgot I had a lit a candle and left for school (this story is over ten years old now) and came home to very angry parents and the smell of burning. The candle had set my bedroom dresser on fire and my father - who was asleep due to being a night shift worker- woke to the sound of the fire alarm and a wall of fire. He managed to put it out himself but also burned an arm in the process... One of my less proud teenage moments which changed my perspective on fire and made me respect it much more than before.

IMG_20170727_220728887.jpg

I am glad I have learnt to be more careful with fire since growing up. It is amazing how quickly a fire can take hold and become a destructive and sometimes life changing force.

I see videos of people doing silly things with fireworks, fire and other dangerous substances that they should have more respect for. A quick laugh can suddenly change your life and I always have wondered why people ignore safety warnings. Creating avoidable injuries that then have to be treated.

You can have fun without having to perform idiotic acts. Maybe I'm just turning into a grumpy old woman, but what's wrong with marshmallows and a fire pit ?

IMG_20170727_220612151.jpg

Always be careful when playing with fire. 🔥🚒

Sort:  

Hi. I am a volunteer bot for @resteembot that upvoted you.
Your post was chosen at random, as part of the advertisment campaign for @resteembot.
@resteembot is meant to help minnows get noticed by re-steeming their posts
Even better: If your reputation is lower than 28 re-steeming only costs 0.001 SBD!
If you want to learn more - read the introduction post of @resteembot.
If you want help spread the word - read the advertisment program post.

SO Nice Pic
& Great Info
Please follow for more comment & voting
@faheemahmad