You can lead a horse to water but you cant make it drink--

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I have begun to realize, that I may covertly, be that horse. A hoarder of knowledge never truly used.

(source: pics.onsizzle.com)

If you were to were to spend time conversing with me, you would probably come to the conclusion that i am an intellectual being. I know a lot of things and like to share them with people and encourage smart decisions. I too, until recently, considered myself to be exceptionally knowledgeable. What i have come to understand though, is that knowledge not truly applied, is just a bunch of words and ideas. i might know things, but i have not been smart enough to apply them in my daily life.

I came to this realization when i started letting people know that i am going to be attending a Traditional Chinese medicine school in the next two years and learning fire cupping and acupuncture. When they ask me how it works i can explain it in full detail with enthusiasm and full conviction. But...I have never gone to get acupuncture. I know and believe it is good for the body, but apparently i would rather read about it than benefit from it. smh. silly human.

Often we get so lost in reading and learning, that we never really apply what we have learned, which does nothing for us. I read books upon books about health and alternative medicine, organic food and yoga, energy healing and how to do things. But if i don't apply them, do i really have the knowledge? or am i just collecting thoughts and pretty fantasies? I read all day about health, but reading is not making me any healthier. You can stare at yoga videos all day and explain each pose in yoga and what it does for the body, but if you never get up and actually do yoga, you are wasting your time.

I am always in the middle of a million books, sprinting from idea to idea before i even realize and use the full value of what i have learned. I know so many things, but it has not done me any good to just know them. This full moon, i have decided to apply the things that i learn, in my life consciously and actively. 

(source:mimi ditchie)

I invite you to do the same, don't waste your knowledge! use it!