Change you health, Right Now! The Miracle of Acupressure

in #life6 years ago

acupressure.jpg
I first encountered acupressure in very strange and rather macabre circumstances. I was in California for my grandmother’s funeral, and a woman showed up, the archetypal new-agey golden girl. She was providing acupuncture treatment for my grandmother, and hadn’t gotten the news that my esteemed relative had passed on.

The woman invited me to her house, and spent the next few hours teaching me the methods and practices of acupuncture. She told me “You will be doing this the rest of your life!” My next encounter was on a train, traveling the route between Bombay and Delhi. During this grueling 26 hour ride, I noticed the man sitting across from me had a satchel case filled with odd looking instruments. It turned out the he was a practicing acupuncturist.

Acupuncture is quite simple. The basic work premise is found in the connection of all the parts of our body, including the endocrine system, digestive, etc. are all connected through nerve channels that are accessed through exerting the proper pressure on the specific point.

The amazing thing is that, at least when I was practicing it on a regular basis, I rarely if ever had to go the doctor. Headaches, colds, and other issues were resolved through self-application of pressure on my hands, feet, and occasionally other points on the face and skull.

Recently, I have returned to this practice, and would like to share a few basic techniques for common issues.

On the thumbs and the big toes are three important points for the brain, pituitary, and pineal glands. If you have a head ache, or want increased mental clarity, massage these points.

For increased energy, massage the pinkie and small to, above the first ring.

I will share a variety of other techniques. Just to start out, you can the palms of both hands, moving the thumb in a circular motion. This is good for overall health, and can also be used as a diagnostic if you find pain in any points.