Fear and Loathing in San Juan

in #life5 years ago

Our grandparents warned us. All that we struggle with today has been a long time coming. Demented politicians, eroded attention spans, loss of hope, and most of all a lack of direction. How can any reasonable man or woman know what path to take when we look back towards our past and see how all of the previous prescriptions have failed us. Can it be as simple as a lack of relevant values?

Absolute power no doubt corrupts absolutely. So why? Why are we surprised when our political representation is unmasked for the perverse hedonists that they are? They tricked us into thinking we chose them, they must merely be reflections of us. But I promise there is no real choices for the people when all our options are prescribed to us by men with deep purses controlling our LCD screens. 

I stepped out of the taxi and towards my luxurious future. What else can be better than evading taxes altogether? It's a opportunity available to any american willing to travel to a new land and take advantage of a less fortunate group of people. The air was sticky and the concrete beaming with reflected light. I searched for my friends but there was nobody to be found. At least to locals spoke english. With closed eyes as I continued my conversation with a beautiful Island native date, I could have been home. But after the girl leaves and the sun goes down, the whites leave their air conditioned holes and congregate to share all their new unoriginal ideas of how to make profits using money they didn't have.

After 10 days I had to leave. To my friends and family I blamed the dirty air and energy sapping heat. But in all reality it was the white man that really put me off. I could see signs of blonde hair and blue eyes in the reflection of even the oldest island natives. The DNA seeps into them through their stomach by vector of McDonalds and california grown produce. It represents a new age of colonization through incorporation. We will take your money and you will succumb to the pressure to be more like us. If not today, eventually. Convenience always wins. 

I was searching for some meaning. If not meaning than simply something to do. Every man needs to be productive to be a man. Do the best you can with what you have because you have nothing else. Stay away from other aimless men for they might as well be spoiled trout drifting toward the estuaries of debt coaxing you in the wrong direction.