You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Traumatic Brain Injury... (before ptsd)

in #life7 years ago

Thank you for your testimony, I also suffered a TBI about five years ago and am relearning my new self. I also am a High functioning TBI surviver and find myself reclusive and more introverted due to the way others remember the pre-injures me. Their expectations and judgements are overwhelming at times , however I am turning to sites like this as an outlet for personal expression. I feel the need to bring awareness to this topic in hopes of educating others and increasing understanding to the masses. I would like to also see more support groups for families of TBI suffers and those that live with chronic pain like myself.

I have chosen to take personal responsibility for my own wellness and healing, putting health and family first instead of monetary earnings. I am a husband and father and still feel the need to provide for my family, however my goals have changed. Simplicity and living in the moment have taken president . I am taking my new mental shortcomings and rerouting my thinking abilities to increase a new healthy way of living. For those suffering from TBI and feel lost and discouraged , there is hope in simplicity of life. Like a small child enjoying the fresh new world , you can rediscover you new normal and reinvent yourself. Remove the toxic elements that clutter your life and consume in glutney the wholeness of living. May all find themselves in the present blessings set before them and reflect their new light.

Sort:  

It's hard and it seems to get more difficult (for me anyway) the older you get. I never really had a support system other than a Neuropsychologist that specialized in TBI about a decade later. I've learned that a good, positive understanding support system can make the best difference in the world. I really hope you have that. I know that no two brain injuries are alike. I understand that and have seen that as evidence in my decades of recovery and living with it. I'm here if you need to talk, as a friend and as someone who understands how hard it can be cognitively and emotionally. Keep up that AWESOME attitude and mentality you have. That helps a lot. I've taken a break because I've been telling my story to try to help raise awareness for invisible disabilities. It's been very draining but it's worth it if it can help others with invisible disabilities . I'm completely alone as I moved away to try to FINALLY start over. I'm finally getting some help with my PTSD but my self confidence has been broken. I'm trying really hard not to give up and keep fighting. I just have to do some things to get my life back on track and will hopefully start posting again soon. Keep up the good work and that great attitude. I'm here if you need a friend.