Daily Motivation - #6 Take Baby Steps

in #life5 years ago (edited)


When you feel overwhelmed - take baby steps!
From my own experience, I know that sometimes the daily workload can be so very overwhelming that you feel completely blocked. In that situation, though my stress level is incredibly high, I cannot do ANYTHING. I just sit there in front of my screen and do nothing at all - which in turn increases my stress level as I lose more and more time.

If you are in such a situation, the first thing is to take a break. A good idea e.g. is to go for a short walk in the fresh air, think about anything but the work waiting for you.

When you get back to your desk, you will already feel more relaxed and no longer as blocked as before. You do not just go back to work, though, but you now start to analyze the task at hand.

Write down your goal. And then write down all the steps that will lead you there. Put them in a logic order, check whether really all of them are necessary to reach your goal. And then start to work on them one after the other.

The big advantage of those baby steps is that you no longer feel overwhelmed because the single steps are now small and easy to take while they are still leading to your goal.

This way, you will no longer feel blocked and you can concentrate on the next of your baby steps. Once finished, check it on your list and feel how good it feels to have accomplished something!

img src

Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://mindpower-coaching.net/daily-motivation-6-take-baby-steps/
Sort:  

If I take a look at your blog posts, I can see you've gone through a lot in your life, but you have the quality to learn from things that happen to you. You'd think that would be something that comes naturally, but the truth is that most people don't learn anything, lol.

Another great post with another wise lesson it in!
Keep up the good work, @helen-derwent!

I think you have already shown you're really committed to SteemIt, so I decided to up your delegation a bit. You definitely deserve it!

Thank you so much. It really means a lot to me to have found somebody who supports me here.

What I wanted to ask you all the time @simplymike: Can I join your "Redfish Rockets" on Discord even though I am not one of the five "official" Redfish Rockets?

Of course. By now, I consider all of you to be Redfish Rockets! You are more than welcome.

Please forgive me if it takes some time before I get to you there. I've only created it during the last Redfish Rockets series, and it hasn't been used a lot - as a result, sometimes I forget it is there.

But I will keep an eye out for you.

Here's the link again: https://discord.gg/T5TuMwg

I was actually just writing my first evaluation post, and I must say, from where I stand, you seem to be doing great. I was just writing a passage in which you're one of the few I'm putting into the spotlight :0)

It's obvious you're not someone who gives up easy! That's a compliment.

I just came across a motivational quote and your name came to mind instantly, lol

That's a really great quote! I love it.

And thank you once again @simplymike for your support. People like you make it so much easier for newbies like me to start out on Steemit. :)

It will surely take some days before I will be there on Discord. I've never used it before but I will try to find out how it works over the weekend.

I am glad to see you have continued to engage on the Steem ecosystem since joining! Remember If you download the @partiko app, you will be able to immediately earn 3,000 Partiko points to use on valuable upvotes to attract more attention to your posts! They are many ways to earn more points very easily just by actively engaging across the ecosystem. In addition, the @partiko account will provide you Steem Power delegation for joining the community so that you can have enough bandwidth to actively engage freely. This is a great opportunity to get your STEEM journey started immediately so if interested, consider signing up with my referral link. Please feel free to reach out to me if you have any questions on @partiko or anything in general.

Posted using Partiko iOS

✅ Enjoy the vote! For more amazing content, please follow @themadcurator for a chance to receive more free votes!

Baby steps is a perfect idea to imagine doing when overwhelmed by work instead of just thinking of the wall of work you need to do. Baby steps sounds sweet and easy to do. Maybe even a little fun when you think of a little one taking their first steps. Thanks for the helpful thought!

Yes, you are right. It sounds even like fun. My daughter has to learn for end term exams at the moment and one evening she called me to say that she did not know how to go on. She just felt blocked, could not get herself to learn anything more.

After our telephone conversation, she sat down, wrote down what she had to learn, found out that in fact she already knew quite a bit of that, so the workload was less than she had thought. And then she devided the rest up into small individual portions that seemed doable to her. That way she overcame the block and was able to start concentrating on what she had to learn again.

When you are overwhelmed, pushing harder does have quite the reverse outcome.
Good idea to take a step back, clear the head, and come back and pick up momentum again.
Thank you for sharing and keep going, whether they be baby steps and strides.... as long as you are moving right :D