Lets Talk about the Weekend - Little Gig 2018

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Fashion, Music, Art, Food.

These are the central themes at South Africa's (fairly) new music and lifestyle, 24-hour festival - Little Gig.

All photos courtesy of Little Gig

LG2018-night2-6.jpg

Having performed the previous year with my band, The Rudimentals, I was dead keen to go this year. Fortunately, we managed to work out a deal with the festival organiser as she needed a band to play at her birthday party, so we struck a deal on the ticket prices. Why would we? Because the cheapest tickets start at R2000 ($200) for this 24 hour party. They go up to about R15000 if you would like the festival to provide luxury accommodation.

LG2018-night-36.jpg

Once inside the festival, everything is free. Feel like a double-vodka and red bull to start you off? No problem. The bar was fully stocked to provide for a slightly older crowd that came there to party hard.

But, the nice thing about an older crowd at a festival is - no drama. People were obviously getting loose, but you didn't see any fights between couples, no paralytic drunk dude being carried by his mates, no women having to have their hair held back. Just good, clean fun.

The Music

The performers were a super eclectic mix.

Stelth Ulvang from The Lumineers played an awesome, chilled set, using some local musicians to support him.

LG2018-afternoon-26.jpg

Nonku Phiri played a decent set, but I was not impressed with how she spoke to the audience. At one point, she badgered some audience members for talking, telling them to move away. Now, I understand that kind of behavior if it was a jazz set in an intimate club, but at a raucous music festival, where people had paid upwards of $200 per ticket? I'm sorry, no. But, I enjoyed her music.

LG2018-afternoon-48.jpg

The fashion sense of some of these performers was just incredible.

LG2018-afternoon-30.jpg

LG2018-afternoon-29.jpg

...and then there was this guy...

LG2018-afternoon-31.jpg

I think that image alone sums up how outrageous this festival was.

Blinky Bill from Kenya played a super interesting set, although at times it seemed like he was not sure whether to play his own original music or the usual "crowd pleasers".

LG2018-night-29.jpg

The highlight set for me was definitely by Black Motion. They played an incredibly diverse set and kept the dancefloor heaving the entire time.

LG2018-night-46.jpg

Food

No hot dogs and burgers up in this joint. No, with a premium clientele to cater for, there were stalls handing out beautiful Indian curry, sushi, lamb ribs, vegetarian kebabs, pancakes with all sorts of toppings, and so much more. There was also a central "condiments" table that had Meldon salt, cheese sauce, and BACON BITS!

LG2018-morning-4.jpg

LG2018-afternoon-94.jpg

LG2018-afternoon-92.jpg

LG2018-afternoon-90.jpg

LG2018-afternoon-14.jpg

There was even an area dedicated to wine and food pairing.

LG2018-night2-7.jpg

There was a "Shop" where you could grab a packet of crisps, some cigarettes, a bag of sour sweets, an iced lolly​ or even some sunscreen if you suddenly found yourself without. All of it free.

LG2018-afternoon-19.jpg

There was an abundance of areas to sit back, enjoy the sun, and chill in style.

LG2018-afternoon-15.jpg

LG2018-afternoon-35.jpg

LG2018-afternoon-47.jpg

LG2018-afternoon-87.jpg

LG2018-morning-13.jpg

LG2018-night2-4.jpg

The entertainment areas were incredible, with beautiful design everywhere you cast your eye.

LG2018-night-19.jpg

LG2018-night-1.jpg

LG2018-afternoon-70.jpg

LG2018-afternoon-51.jpg

And beautiful people.

LG2018-afternoon-17.jpg

LG2018-afternoon-5.jpg

LG2018-afternoon-18.jpg

LG2018-afternoon-61.jpg

LG2018-afternoon-73.jpg

LG2018-night-11.jpg

Some of the weird and wonderful activities​ you could take part in included a 20-minute​ "power nap" in a hammock, which included bluetooth headphones to isolate you from the party with relaxing music.

LG2018-night-27.jpg

Or a swim in the river.

LG2018-night2-17.jpg

Or...yoga. Yup, they had yoga.

Yoga-Gallery.jpg

As someone who doesn't like to party or go to clubs and bars, this really was the ultimate way​ for me to get out, enjoy some downtime​, and let my hair down, surrounded by artfully dressed men and women, beautiful food, great music, and great friends.

LG2018-night-26.jpg

Put it on your bucket list and make sure to get down to Little Gig 2019 when it comes around. Many thanks to Georgia Black for putting on such an incredible event.

Gallery-new3.jpg

Follow me @heypapalegend

Adsactly Banner New.jpg


Vote @adsactly-witness for Steem witness!

Witness proposal is here:

Witness Proposal
Go To Steem Witness Page

In the bottom of the page type: adsactly-witness and press vote.

adsactly.gif

Thank You

Sort:  

Wow looks like a blast!! I want to go next year!

Right?! It's​ totally worth it :D

wanna take a nap in a glowing hammock

Haha, yeah it was quite something man :D

Your post has been selected as #adsactlyspostoftheday :)

Join us in our Discord channel here to drop your post in our post promotion page, and make sure to use the @adsactly tag in the post itself.

DQmd5CQG5zLjjm2z8289qcLU6eBHJpC5FmgtR3aC1eXnhsi.png

Whoop whoop!

Now the term I think best to describe an event like this is "Letting Your Hair Down"

24 hours of entertainment, with everything inclusive it actually is not excessively expensive considering what is on offer.

Interesting to see thanks @heypapalegend

Indeed! Once you add up what you actually spend at a bar and on food / snacks, it really does become quite affordable.

This sounds Super Awesome! Great job man and I'll be looking more closely at events like these going forward.

Initially I thought "What a rip off" until you explained what is actually included. Nice!

Haha i know right? :D It really is an amazing experience :) This is my second time going now and it will definitely be my yearly jol. :D

My kinda place👍

Damn straight 😎

Hey I got locked outta my account sadly. This is my new one. My first post is a video of me proving it’s me. Sucks it’s like totally starting over all cause I messed up my password when I backed it up :(

If you were following me @geneeverett please shoot me a follow here as this is my account now. Again I do a vlog showing this is me as my first post late last night!

You have been scouted by @promo-mentors. We are a community of new and veteran Steemians and we are always on the look out for promising authors.

I would like to invite you to our discord group https://discord.gg/vDPAFqb.

When you are there send me a message if you get lost! (My Discord name is the same as here on Steemit)



Wow! What a terrific party. I'm thinking I'd love to go.

Thanks for a wonderful, vibrant post.