The Perfect Imperfection

in #life6 years ago (edited)

You know at some point in my life, I used to get really annoyed about just being the way I was, courtesy of people's comments about the way I looked.
IMG_20180127_100532_180.jpg
I remember clearly being served a small wrap of pounded yam few days back at home and a neighbor who happened to be around was like with the way I look, 4 wraps would be okay for me. At that moment, I found it rather offensive. But thinking back now, I sure can laugh about the ridiculousness of the situation. 4 wraps? But why?

Most of my coursemates have my name saved on their phones as 'Ife thick' even though I'm the only Ife in the class.

And at church I remember a woman asking where I got all my fat from because my parents are not. Rhetorically annoying as it was, I just chose to smile.

My girlfriends in the middle of a discussion once said if they didn't know me better, they'ld have said I was having lots of sex. (this did hurt A LOT)
Some others even say that if I look like this now, they wonder how I'll look when I get married.
But I just laugh it off. And beg them not to worry for me or take paracetamol for my headache. (in my mind though) I only smile when all these overly crude remarks and totally uncalled for. are made.

Well, when you get to have a stature as mine, most people attribute it to you been able to 'eat for Africa'.
Might be true for some people though.
I wouldn't call myself fat. Cause everyone else does. It's probably the only thing I get to hear.
CYMERA_20170310_203628.jpg

So my question, what's wrong with not being skinny? Or flat?
Or better put, what's wrong with having a great body and being curvy? Or being chubby? Or thick? Or round?

I'll say SOCIETY.
Society has proved that we ladies have to be slim and tall to actually 'fit in'
Or be 'generally accepted'
Why this is so, I wouldn't know.
But it is what it is.

Lol. Funnily enough, I tried to lose weight and fat because I got tired of all the crude remarks about my being. I did want to feel beautiful and hear sweet compliments. And look 'hot'.

My lips to God ears, I fell ill and when I did lose the weight I so badly wanted to, the comments came back pouring in: 'What happened to me'?, Was I sick'? 'Did I fail a course at school'?, 'Wasn't I eating right'?
Same people that still wanted to know why I was fat still got concerned when I lost the supposed fat.
And to make matters worse, my clothes couldn't fit anymore.
This got me thinking what do people want exactly?
I really couldn't explain.
I even asked someone to send me a Keto diet plan(a weight loss schedule) and when I saw the timetable, I was taken aback. Just eggs, sardine, suya, veggies, lots of water for 3 whole weeks.
No even rice. 😑 or beans or plantain.
So I'm supposed to starve because I want to be slim.
Does being slim add money to one's account?
If it does, then by all means I'm going to. 😀😀

Now don't get me wrong, I don't encourage obesity as that's unhealthy.
But believe me when I say there's nothing wrong with being curvy, round, thick, voluptuous or chubby.
Provided you're fit and healthy.

Some people honestly do not realize that it's just how some people were created but hey, you do not owe them any explanations whatsoever.
Everyone CAN NOT be slim. IMG_20171221_062513_934.jpg

And if you are going to lose weight or fat, then DO IT FOR YOU and not because of what anyone says or has said about you.

DO NOT ever feel less special or beautiful because of what people say. (operational word here being NOT)
THEY DO NOT DEFINE YOU!
Your worth isn't based on anyone's opinion or perception of you.

You are you.
And you are beautiful.
God's creation.
God's masterpiece
Who better to love you than yourself?
1512681605027.jpg

Sort:  

Lolz everyone can't be thick...
Yes that is so true... I can relate sister @dee-y over and out

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

I actually tgink u are really beautiful

Thanks hun

Congratulations @highfee! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @highfee! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!