Pumpkin Pail Light Covers By Jennifer

in #life7 years ago

Want a great way to add a little halloween or fall decor to your front porch? This is easy and cheap!

I've been putting these on my lights for a few years, but at our new beach house a bright orange pumpkin pail didn't go with the rest of my fall colors so when I saw those pumpkin pails in a variety of colors and teal (what I decorate a lot with around here) I was thrilled and bought a few.

Time: 20 Minutes Cost: $2 Difficulty: Easy

Start with your basic pumpkin pail. I bought 2 of them since I have 2 lights I needed covered - one on each side of our garage door.

  •  "diy pumpkin pail light covers"

Now you will need to cut out the back part of your pumpkin (or if you want the pumpkin to last all season long, cut the area of his face out) with a utility knife.
Check out the width of your light so you know how wide to make your cut. Make sure that the area you cut out in the back is about half the size of the width of your light so that it's big enough to get around the light, but small enough to stay in place. I drew lines down the back of my pumpkin where I wanted to cut and I also cut out the bottom of the pumpkin pail.

  •  "diy pumpkin pail light covers"

Here you can see what my pumpkin looks like with the back and the bottom cut out. If you do not want to cut out the bottom you don't have to, I just wanted the light to be able to shine out the bottom of my pumpkin and down my garage door.

  •  "diy pumpkin pail light covers"

Here you can see what my light looks like before and how it will become attached.

  •  "diy pumpkin pail light covers"

Then take your pumpkin pail and wrap it around your light, wiggling it around until it fits snuggly in place. You may need to rest it on a certain area of your light, depending on how your light is shaped.

  •  "diy pumpkin pail light covers"

He looks so neat, especially at night! And I love having the teal color to match with the rest of my decor.
And when halloween is over, I will swap these 2 pumpkins out with similar ones, but with the face in the back so it's fall decor instead!

Materials I used for this project:

  • Pumpkin pails
  • Utility knife