Lend Me Your Ears...

in #life5 years ago

Because really, that's all I want of you. Your face and your reactions interest me not. Your opinions and own stories matter even less. But let us not dwell on something as depressing as that. You have been cast as eternal listener to the drama that is my life. It is a most honorable position, very coveted, but I'm sure you'll do me proud. The part itself is not difficult, but it can become quite dull.

Some have even called it..."repetitive". But you won't ever say that, will you? You understand the part you must play. It is not easy and you alone know how very vital it is that you be a good audience to my tragedies.

The man in the corner will hold up a sign, when to laugh and when to cry. And you'll learn when to nod your head appreciatively, when to sigh and hold my hand.

And his job will become useless, he will become obsolete.

Though not for long.


davide-ragusa-24118-unsplash.jpg
Photo by davide ragusa on Unsplash

I fear that one day, you too will tire of being my fascinated audience. You too will grow resentful - accuse me of not listening back, of not caring for your own problems or for your life. But I'm not here to do that, I'm not here to listen or to be sympathetic. I might've done so, once. But now, I see how much more important my life is, my own tragedies, my own quick wit.

So, I have taken my attention away from you and I fear I will not give it back. And once you grow tired of that, once I've made you feel too small and too unimportant, you'll scuttle away.

And the man with the signs will come back. He will take his place in the corner and teach reactions to my next listener. And he won't care there was another before him and another before that, but I will. I'll remember you all, as I play out the next part. All the nameless audience of my captivating life.

Thanks for reading,

photojoiner_photo(16).jpeg

Sort:  

Incredibly well written HD.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you :) Just some thoughts floating around my head...

Such is the way of life @honeydue. We all have our own lives to live, our own, ever changing interests and passions of the moment but we are all a product of our accumulated experiences and relationships with one another. We can't escape the fact that we have an impact on and are impacted by the lives of others. No matter how short or sustained that relationship is, whether fleeting or life long, it's part of who we are and what makes us, us. The only thing we can control in our lives is ourselves. We can only experience life and share our thoughts from our own point of view, so we must stay true to iurselves, as you are and be happy and satisfied with what that brings.

So long as we have one true friend in the world, we are wealthy beyond comparison.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts my friend.

Have a good one.

Very well said :) I was thinking much the same thing when I wrote this post.

The only thing we can control in our lives is ourselves.

Gotta remember that one. Thank you for the comment, the upvote and the resteem! Much appreciated :)

And I thought I was special... :-(

Well sometimes someone has to be the listener. Drama or not the life is not the same without the stage. We do need actors, the show and spectators. Sometimes we are not aware that roles can change and that's not necessary bad. You can easily switch from being the actor to a backend spectator of your life and is not even sad if the show is still running. Meditation helps seeing roles and funny hypostasis of ourselves and our power games in front of others. In the end there isn't anything fixed and as long as the show is running, actors are easy replaced.

Posted using Partiko Android