16-year-old first African-American to win Miss Illinois Teen USA in 34-year history

in #life7 years ago

Sydni Dion Bennett did not want to be someone else as a child. A 10-year-old ballerina, her friends, often compared her to Misty Copeland. I did not want to hear that. She lives in the mantra: Be yourself, everyone else lives already excused. It's easier, he said.

The 16-year-old girl, also a trainer of Perfect Dance Artistry and Company, has the conviction and confidence of an intelligent and intelligent woman who can contribute to her positive attitude.

Bennett recently wrote as the first African American story to be crowned Miss Illinois Teen USA in the existence of 34 years of competition.

"When they said my name, I was like, 'Whoa, it's me!' I did not expect it. Honestly, my reaction video is not very good because I did not know what to do.

But the magic of Bennett's coronation has not disappeared.

After a walk on stage, with a shiny crown, a silk belt and a bouquet of roses, another black candidate ran to kiss and congratulate Bennett. The exchange was an act of pure happiness and companionship.

"There were few black girls in the competition," Bennett said. "We were close friends, and we talked about how one of us had to be the year, no matter who we want one of us to win."

The excitement over the ancient coronation has not ceased.

"We are very proud to win them this year," said press secretary Daryl Schabinger, who has been working with Miss Illinois Teen USA for ten years. "She is a beautiful and intelligent young woman.

"It was fantastic that she was the first African American to win the title," said Randy Duncan, president of the Chicago Dance Department. Duncan teaches Bennett two days a week in high school for the performing arts and fine arts.

"Long time when you do not see someone who looks like you, you might think," I do not belong. But (Bennett) had all the confidence in the world to compete and it worked for them. "I'm thrilled and excited, it's great to break the barriers," he said.

Before the ceremonial weekend, Bennett did not know that a black girl had never won. Nevertheless, it persisted in its persecution.

"I discovered the night before the last show that I wanted to fight harder and win for all the black girls, not just for me," he said. "I felt nothing less about my ability to win because no black girl had done it, it brought me an impulse instead of doubt.

She said she wants other African girls to know they can do the same.

Bennett says her life experiences have prepared her for the big day all the time.

"I think a lot of girls enter the lodges because they think they think it's not the right one, but I went with" It's me, it's me. "When I think of my stable job of teaching and caring for children, it was easy because it is my daily life, I think that's what makes me stand out and that's real.

It was only the second time that Bennett participated in a contest. She was second in Miss Illinois Teen USA last year.

With a "yes," Bennett participated in ceremonies.

"My mother and I saw a winner earlier in the news and asked me if the bomb was something I wanted to do." Yeah, like, oh, well, whatever, "but I do not think he signed me."

"You should know me better now," said the teenager's mother on the huge coffee table. "I will be hard to my children."

After that first year, Bennett was addicted (although she admitted that she would have chosen a dance contest if she had fallen the same weekend).

"I was there last year, and it was like, Wow! They were all very nice; the weekend was enjoyable. I was open this year and just wanted to have fun."

"It was great to see her and see how she grew in the last 12 months," Schabinger said. "It flourished, it was certainly his time to win."

Her next time to compete for a crown will be for Miss Teen USA across the country. Vanbros y Asociados, who will lead the Illinois contest and other national competitions, will help prepare them.

Although the national parade date has yet to be announced (last year's participants learned it a month before the show), preparation has already begun and looks different.

"The company (Vanbros) gives all the winners a complete preparation team to make sure we are well balanced." We have a list of books; I have to do the nationality test and see the news. I just came in, and I participated, it's serious now, it's a lot, but I can handle it. "

Schabinger thinks too.

"We are counting on her to be the second winner (Illinois) nationwide, and she is very confident, and the judges will see.