Failure: Why Don't We Define the Word Correctly?

in #life4 years ago

Have you ever Failed?

You might have an eyebrow lifted up as you read this question of mine. A question that I asked myself so desperately to have a different answer when it comes to "FAILURE." So desperate because if I don't find an answer negating the existing mindset I have, I might be totally drowned with no spark of hope.

Correct me if I am wrong, most of us would probably answer the question in this way - "Who hasn't? Or Why ask a question with an obvious answer?"Did I assume correctly?

These are the definitions of failure that I have read which are never new to me, I guess to you too.

  • It is the fact of someone or something not succeeding.
  • It is the fact of not doing something that you must do or are expected to do.
  • It is the lack of success in trying to do something.

Well, as I mirror myself to all these definitions, I can not escape the fact, but to say that I have had a lot of failures. Not to mention, I can even say to myself blatantly that I am a FAILURE in so many areas of my life. I don't need to comfort myself any longer. I just have to accept the reality that I am in such a state of defeat. I am not succeeding, not measuring up to do the expected output or result, and lacking success in trying to do something. Isn't it that that is what failing or failure means?

istockphoto-528560698-1024x1024-removebg-preview (1).png

If only you can scrutinize every area of my life. I failed a lot - in discipline, relationship, my different roles... I am. Are you?

However, there is something inside of me whispering with such a gentle voice of care and love saying, "Shake yourself from all of this dirt that you intentionally or unintentionally have thrown to myself that is getting higher and higher than the crown of your head." So, then I asked, Do I have to respond, and do what I have heard? To answer, I have seen confirmation of hope from these statements that I have read. I would like to share with you.

It says, "Failure is NOT an event, BUT rather a JUDGEMENT about an event. Failure is NOT something that happens to us or a label we attach to things. IT IS A WAY WE THINK ABOUT OUTCOMES." (Pause and let the statements sink in.)

All of a sudden I remember my history lesson about Winston Churchill a well-known leader who led Great Britain against Nazi Germany. When he was asked, "What prepared you to risk political suicide by speaking against Hitler?" He answered, "It was when I repeated a grade in elementary." The man then commented, "You mean you failed a year in grade school?" Churchill responded, "I NEVER HAVE FAILED ANYTHING IN MY LIFE. I WAS JUST GIVEN A SECOND OPPORTUNITY TO GET IT RIGHT."

How I desire to see failure in how it was perceived by Mr. Churchill. I believe that he responded to it without any shadow of a doubt. Can I, or can we do it too?

The way we define the word failure or failing has a great deal in our lives. Don't you think so? Surprisingly, if not shockingly, we are victims of our own definitions that surely affected or distorted our judgment towards life.

In my class, for example, a student who gets 95% over a hundred as his score still thinks that he fails, more devastatingly he thinks that he is a failure because of the wrong way he perceives the event, and how he judges the outcome. Is he to blame on how he thinks 95% of a hundred is a failure? Here is the truth of the matter - Adults have defined failure for themselves in a very destructive way, so to whom do we expect the younger ones will model it from?

After all, that was put forward on the table, Can I ask my query for the second time, if you may allow me?

Have you ever Failed?

Let me answer is it from clearer lenses. "For so many times I see myself as a failure in countless events, and wrong judgments to the outcomes I have seen before my eyes, but then now, I am convinced that I just needed more opportunities to make things right. The second chance maybe was not enough, so chances were given for me to learn from the trials I have to take before the final things are made right. So long as I don't cease making the most of the opportunities, I am NOT A FAILURE - SO YOU ARE!

Rock-Climbing-1024x716-removebg-preview.png

Credited to http://www.tradeready.ca/2014/global_trade_tales/approaching-market-entry-strategy-rock-climbing-perspective/attachment/rock-climber-on-the-edge/ (edited)

Thank you for reading! ^^

I hope that you have been blessed. ^^

#Blessed
#chances
#hope
#life
#gratefulness