The diary of a Steemian (@illluminatus comes out).

in #life7 years ago


Source
When I heard about Steemit a year ago from @gbenga, I looked at him and laughed. It was entirely beyond me as to how an individual could get money when people upvote his articles. To me, it was like telling a man that he could get money when people like his posts or pictures on Facebook. I paid no mind to it but he kept preaching the "Steemit gospel " to me and eventually, I got converted and became a Steemian (on an alternate account) last December.

Back then, I was usually ecstatic, if a post got me a couple of cents. I continued posting and my writing prowess, if not my payouts improved and I was able to produce better articles.

Like some converts to a new faith become due to lack of miracles or incentives which really attracted them to the faith, I became a lukewarm Steemian. I started producing articles which even I would not upvote if I saw them today. I started engaging in plagiarism and eventually I started lifting whole articles from other sources and and dropping them here. I got so much comments from @cheetah that I would be quite wealthy now, if I got paid for each comment @cheetah left on my post. Initially, I did not understand these comments and I thought that @cheetah was just a bot that would let you know if there was an article like what you have written somewhere on the internet. I just kept dropping my plagiarised articles and kept complaining about how I got no money from my work. I guess Karma was just been herself, coupled with the fact that Steemians are not stupid. I eventually got a comment from @steemcleaners where I was accused of plagiarism. I tried to defend myself and tried to stand up to @steemcleaners, with the claim that I wrote the work myself. That was the last straw that broke the camel's back. @steemcleaners gave me the precise reference for my work and I had nothing else to say. At that moment, @pfunk dived in and gave the command !cheetah ban and that was it. I was still oblivious as to the gravity of what had happened until I wrote my next article (which was actually an original) and got downvotes from 11 different cheetah accounts and a downvote from @blacklist-a. I tried appealing but all my appeals fell on deaf ears. I moped for a while and then got this account. In a way, I'm kind of happy that this happened, otherwise, I might not have improved myself. While my articles might not be as good as I might be able to make them to be, I'm proud of myself as to what I've been able to accomplish. I might still be lukewarm in some ways due to my busy schedule, I'm way better than I used to be and hope that I can become even better. Thanks a lot for reading, live long and prosper.

A billion thanks to @elyaque for this incredible badge

Sort:  

Stand firm, things will flow better for you. I wish you luck and success!

Thanks for the kind wishes

Hopefully other new folks won't have to learn the hard way like you did.

I hope so bro, I sincersly do.

Have you seen the announcement I made? You should check it out ;)

This post received a 4.7% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @illuminatus! For more information, click here!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Illuminatus from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Congrats! Btw. If you split your text into shorter paragraphs, it makes for an easier reading. It might also help with upvotes. :)