9 Goals I Wish to Achieve in 2018, Including The Steemit Goals!

in #life6 years ago

Have you ever considered using the Steem blockchain for storing your memories permanently? Does it appeal to you to have an immutable but public record of things important to you? You can frequently see @lukestokes storing the memories with his family on the blockchain. It is so inspiring to see him do that. I myself have used the Steem blockchain to store important milestones permanently. My goals for 2018 are of great significance to me and while I have them written on the diary and the whiteboard, the ease of seamless online access, without a fear of loss or censorship, is what makes recording them on Steemit a much more lucrative option.

Image designed via Canva.com and background image is free to use from the inbuilt gallery. 

At the end of 2017, I was able to record a summary of my achievements and failures during the year, thanks to a contest by @anomadsoul. I also did a funny review of my 2017 goals on new years eve, which included a goal to reach 60 reputation score from the 59.857 at the time of posting. It happened before midnight of 31st December. I was able to achieve the goal to have at least 1000 Steem in the first week of December, 2017. A recent milestone of reaching 3000 followers is also recorded on my blog. In short, I love recording moments of joy and the aspirations of future on the blockchain.

My 2018 Goals

Having too many goals can overwhelm us at times. Not having any goals makes life a random occurrence and that is not a good way to live life in my opinion. I have been setting goals properly for three years now after educating myself regarding goals. This education through online courses, articles from credible authors like Jim Rohn and Brian Tracy, and book reading has enabled me to have and pursue worthy goals. In fact, one of my earliest successful blog posts on Steemit contained the 8 steps to effective goal setting.

I have set 9 goals for myself in 2018 which are listed below, including the current progress. My year in terms of goals starts from 1st February so it's been just one month of progress on all of the goal; except Steemit, which is what I do regularly. I hope you will enjoy going through these goals.

1. 70 Reputation & 10,000 Steem Power

I started Steeming in June, 2017 and had a goal to reach 60 reputation score and 1000 Steem at the end of last year. I had more than 1500 Steem (Steem+SP) in my account before new year. Having achieved the Steemit goals of 2017, I set for myself an ambitious goal to have 70 Reputation and 10,000 SP in 2018. I understand that both of these goals are hard to achieve unless I invest heavily in terms of money along with the time and effort. Money is not a luxury that I enjoy very much at the moment so my time and effort would be the main way forward in achieving these milestones.

About reputation, I knew that every next level is many many times difficult to reach than the previous one. If you study how reputation score works, you can truly understand how difficult it is to go from 60 to 70. However, there has been some massive progress on this front and I have already reached 63.282 as of the moment of writing.

However, looking at the following screenshot from steem.cool (a tool developed by @blueorgy) will give you an idea of how difficult it is to reach every next level of reputation. I took it immediately after reaching 63 reputation score. 


What it really means is that in order to reach 64 reputation score, I need to do 29 % of all the effort it took me to reach from 25 to 63. That's more than 1/4th of everything I have done on Steemit so far in 9 months. (4836 is 29 % of 16708).

As far as the SP is concerned, I plan to keep being active on Steemit and engage with the community in more beneficial ways. Reaching 10,000 SP just through content and curation is an uphill task and it would take some smart decision making to make that happen. But I wish to have at least this much influence on Steemit so that I can give more.

2. Reading At Least 10 Books

Reading books is a habit I started developing in 2016. Outside the Harry Potter series and a few novels that I read in my teenage, I had little book-reading experience. I read 8 books in the initial year of revival and the number increased to 10 last year. 

This year, I am going to read at least more books. The number of books is same as the previous year but the volume of books is such that completing this goal successfully would be an incredible achievement for me. I am slow at reading. Here's a picture of all the books that I intend to read in 2018.

It's a big pile of books.

I started studying How to Win Friends and Influence People by Dale Carnegie in early February. I have read more than 1/3rd of it already. However, I forgot in a colleague's car two weeks ago and got it back three days later. Compelled by my habit to always keep a book with me (which I learned last year from The Mastery Manual by Robin Sharma), I took The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho with me wherever I went until it was finished on 24th of last month. 

My best hope is to have finished reading How to Win Friends and Influence People by the end of March and also to read a significant portion of the next book on my list; most probably Give and Take by Adam Grant. I have shared lessons from the books I have read, like the secrets to becoming rich from The Richest Man in Babylon. I also reviewed some books, for example Outliers by Malcolm Gladwell. I intend to do that this year as well.

3. Support Education of 4 Poor Kids

Two is the least number of kids I should be supporting in terms of education. Academic session is about to begin for most children in my region and it means that I have successfully supported the four children under my supervision last year. They continue to receive my support so there are four, possibly five, kids to look after. Paying monthly fees is not a problem for me as I have a stable income through my job and can happily afford educating these young minds.


Educate One Child is my initiative started in April 2016.

However, start of the new academic cycle means requirement of new uniforms, bags, books, and stationary etc. This is a difficult moment for me as I have so much of financial responsibility in my personal life as well. Anyway, I will manage to support these kids. When I say support, it means paying every penny that these children need to get their education.

4. Complete Construction of My Home

This goal has been carried forward from last year. There was a little progress last year but the more significant progress has happened in the last two months. I have the goal to complete all the construction and finishing work till 30 April, allowing me two months more to accomplish the task.

So far, the progress has been rapid and a lot has been done already. However, construction is something which won't go away easily. A lot remains to done. I am out of resources at the moment and am waiting for a good bull run to cash out some of the crypto investments but only on profit. The amount of SBD in my wallet is also waiting to be withdrawn at a good price. I don't know what may happen but I am waiting patiently.

5. Buy a Car

It will be my first ever car. As already mentioned, I do not possess enough resources at the moment but there are some promising investments that I made in crypto which may make it happen soon. Also, the SBD I earn from my Steemit efforts are reserved for the two major personal goals; constructing my home and buying a car. A good bull run is all I need to get the required money.

My first ever highway driving experience was timed terribly wrong. We started the journey at the midnight on the busiest road in Pakistan. Thanks to @saadzafar10 whose car it was (he joined Steemit recently on my insistence).

I know that my financial resources are at risk of market conditions right now. Having much of my money invested in crypto is a risk I took knowingly and I have been patient in dealing with the crash so far. In 2017, I was the worst cryptocurrency trader. In 2018, I plan to have better titles. I will lease a new car on a manageable down payment and pay the rest of the cost through monthly installments, which I can afford with my salary as well. I need to buy the car by end of this month in order to complete this goal. Let's see.

6. Complete The "MBA" Course

Online education has been my interest since 2014. Last Black Friday, I enrolled in an interesting course. It is called An Entire MBA in 1 Course and is a popular course on Udemy with 147,516 students enrolled so far. I thought I had made a steal but I guess all the people are using discounts as a marketing gimmick. 

Profession wise, I am into supply chain management. So, this course interested me a lot, especially due to the fact that I have not done an MBA myself. Online education through concise courses appeals me more than the on-campus rigor of years. So far, I haven't done much towards this goal and there's a need to include it in my daily routine. I hope to complete this 16 week course by end of June. 

7. Marriage

Another carried forward goal from the last year is marriage. I was so close to completing the goal of tying the knot last November but it wasn't meant to be for us. It rather become a bitter shock because of the abrupt break up. I am shaking it off still and haven't moved on yet. My aim is to complete my immediate goals (home and car) for now. Once enough healing has been done from the previous scars, I will start working on the goal of getting married.

My best hope is to have the goal accomplished this goal by September. I don't know for sure if it will be achieved by that time or before that because of the complications involved. Wish me luck!

8. Physical Activity at Least Once a Week

I am an ex 100 meter sprint gold medalist. Add to that 12 years of active competitive football (soccer) and some field hockey as well. In short, my past is full of sports and athletics. But all of it is in the past. I am worried about my physical condition due to lack of physical activity. It's something I should do something about.

The Ilyas in the yellow is about to become 100 meter dash champion! 

So far, I have been guilty of doing nothing about this goal. Football field is where I belong and after I recover from my current sickness, I am going to play football regularly. Let's see how I fare.

9. Study Quran with Translation

People say that Quran (Koran) is the religious book of Muslims. I disagree. I have neither found it to be just a religious book nor it is only for Muslims. Quran was revealed on Prophet Muhammad (ranked the # 1 in The 100: A Ranking Of The Most Influential Persons In History; a book by Michael H. Hart) more than 1400 years ago. Even then, it contains facts that science proved just a few years ago. Let me share some verses from the chapter 41 of Quran.


That's how the universe and our earth was created. Did you notices the distribution of heaven into 7 layers? NASA says there are 6 layers of Earth's atmosphere but excludes the 7th one; the magnetosphere. 

Here's a quote from the magnetosphere article linked in the caption above.

Planets having active magnetospheres, like the Earth, are capable of mitigating or blocking the effects of solar radiation or cosmic radiation, that also protects all living organisms from potentially detrimental and dangerous consequences.        

Quran is divided in 30 parts, containing 114 chapter of different lengths. I studied 5 chapters last year and intend to complete 10 more chapters this year, all of which still remain to be studied. The more I read Quran and try to understand, the more my inquisitive mind is fascinated by its wisdom. 

Conclusion

I know that these 9 goals have their individual challenges and achieving them all would be an incredibly difficult task. However, these goals are fundamental to my intellectual, relational, educational, financial and personal pursuits. I may be sleeping over a few at the moment but I do intend to integrate them all in my daily or weekly routine. 

With this post, I have created something to get back to and check my progress on the goals. The fact that this post will remain permanently available to me for ready reference is an amazing aspect of Steemit. I would like to know if you use Steemit for storing important information as well. Let me know in the comments below. 

If you wish to help me in pursuit of my goals, you can do that by upvoting this post and resteeming it. Believe me it's a great support for me. Thank you!

Sort:  

Wish you all the best dear. It takes determination and focus to achieve success. Though there must be challenges but the truth is that most successful people in the world have overcome tremendous challenges in other to reach their goals. I joined steemit and became frustrated at a point that I almost gave up. To buy data and stay online is one of my biggest challenges. I'm part of this great community today, due to my determination and focuse, though I have not started earning much, but I'm already in love with it. Everyday I keep exploring it more and more and have followed some amazing blogs and you are one of them. Follow your vision is great. Just pray to God, trust him, be patient, be positive and focused, be optimistic and work hard dear and you will achieve your goals. Wish you all the best dear. The sky is your starting point. Upvoted and resteemed.

I know of the challenges that people in Nigeria face regularly. It's because of Steemit that I know. It's sad though. But don't be discouraged. Steemit is benevolent. It can provide for your needs. Just remain focused and keep working hard and improve day by day.

I would love to see you grow big on Steemit and change the way things work in your local community.

Thanks dear. God is my strength. Though we may not always realize it, that life limitations can sometimes inspire us to strive for heights we may not have reached otherwise. Instead of avoiding challenges jump into them. I will not be discouraged because I know that I will soon overcome the challenges though it's not easy for me at all because I'm financially handicap now. I'm not losing hope or doubting what God can do. One old man said that if your challenges are too large or too numerous, do not give up. I strongly believe that God will see me through. Thanks for your encouragement. I'm happy I came across your blog. Thank alot for your words of advice. I really appreciate dear.

Hello @ilyastarar

I wish you luck in all you set to accomplish this year. And that's for your response on the way to gain foothold in Steemit program.

Setting goals is enables one to have an idea of what one is working for and also have a sense of direction. One good thing with this is, even if you don't get to accomplish the goal 100%, you will have at least made a huge inroads sometimes accomplishing greater percentage of the the intended goal.

May God guide you to accomplish these goals which you have set for your self.

@eurogee

I know I may not achieve all these goals completely but I am sure that there will be some progress in all the goals and I will achieve some of them. It is true that the goals give us direction and purpose.

Setting goals enables one to have an idea of what one is working for...

This made me think a lot. The overall look at my goals gives a broader perspective of what I want to do as a person. I can summarize in a few sentences what I am working for. Thanks for your wise comment!

You are most welcome

I know from experience, this kind of goal planning works!

Wish you nothing but success on it and you'll be blown away at how powerful it is to write down those goals and work on them every day.

You'll hit them in no time sir! Great post and a good reminder for everyone to write down those goals for 2018!

Thank you so much! It's third year in a row that I am juggling with goals and I am learning a lot of things about goal setting.

Glad to see that you are willing to help poor people in their education. Everyone desires to have his own home and car :) and for marriage, appropriate time is fixed so don't make this goal :P.
Wishes you good luck that INSHA ALLAH you will achieve 70RP athe end of this year.

Thank you so much! Appropriate time is fixed but we cannot sit idle and hope to get everything done by fate. There are so many lessons to learn on the way to discovery of our fate.

I think if we all start taking care of less priviliged people around us, soon there will be no less-priviliged people.

Welldone @ilyastarar. I resonate more with your goal of list of books to read. A good number are books i've read aboutor read in themselves. No, but it's not a big pile of book for book lovers. People with busy schedule now invest in audio books.

I have not been able to move to audio books yet. I think I will always love to read from the book even if I get to read only one book a year. Life can be full of activity at times but reading can be done on a daily basis if we want to.

Amazing post and i can see you are 25% already there.. you mentioned that going from 25 to 50 rep score is easier than going from 63 to 64, while i agree with this, i take a different point of view on this.

When you were starting out, you had no SP, no followers, no brand name, nothing.. its a lot harder to build yourself than it seems like. However now you have over 4000 followers, most of your payouts are now in 150+ categories whereas we used to br happy to get a 0.01$ vote when we started here. Right??
So my point is that you will get there easily..

And on side note :- you can either get married or do rest of your tasks :p (just kidding). Hoping to see you up there..

Pheeww! I wish you achieve all those goals. Anyway, you are strong. Never knew you weren't married though. And it's nice to see you aiming to play ball. Lol!

I set goals too, but one thing is setting them another thing is achieving them.
I practically carried some of my last year's goals to this year. And I'm seriously hoping to achieve them.

I wish you luck in all your goals. What helped me achieve most of my goals last year was a constant reminder in form of a whiteboard or a list. I used to check my progress on all of the goals and did some adjustments too. I think reading the goal setting post will help you if you haven't studied goal setting in detail.

I actually haven't studied goal setting in detail but what I do is write mine in my diary and i work towards it.

Learning about different techniques of goal setting will help a lot. Do read about SMART goals.

Thanks you once again for this pieces of information. I will really endeavor to stick with it to guide me towards excellence in terms of realizing my the set goals.

Man, you're loaded!

@eurogee

I set for myself an ambitious goal to have 70 Reputation and 10,000 SP in 2018.

Its really wonderful, I wish you best luck here, you achieve every goal of life :)
Your One of best Goal "Study Quran with Translation" its best one

Thank you so much, Sana. Thanks for your feedback. I have seen your blog earlier too. Just followed to see you progressing here.

your welcome

All the best in achieving these and thank you for sharing them. I personally believe that setting goals is so important and more people should do it. Looking forward to seeing how you progress with these.

I am determined not to compromise on some of the goals in any case. Book reading is one of them. There are some that may not receive much attention but I hope to align these goals with the way I spend time. Interesting to see where it all ends.

Thank you for your feedback!

Hey @ilyastarar, I love your post here...organization is the key to success and you seem to have both down pact!

Also, you are taking care of mind, body and soul...and also helping others. Such well-rounded goals; I applaud you!

Also, can you explain to me this...before I upvoted your post, I thought it said it was sitting at 2 and change. Then, it jumped to it's current value? Unless I saw it wrong, but I don't think so :)

Cheers!

I read your post completely believe me it took ten miutes( slow na) but it was worth it. List of books to be read is impresive. I like your simple style of narating facts. I also want to write in this style. Any sugggestions how to do this. By the way postpone your number seven as much you can. it will hog your time and you wont be able to give this amount of tine to steemit and 70 score you want to reach.

Thanks for the feedback. I think I'll prefer number 7 to my Steemit goals in case I need to. I do hope to get things done well in time though.

I can't suggest how you can do this because we all have a unique build up to our current state in life. Everything about you and me is different and so is the style and language. What can be done is to do the content organization like other bloggers. What's written in the paragraphs will always be unique to the author.

Uniqueness is beautiful. Go with your own style and words. Reading books and articles from others does improve and change the way we write and what we write about but your uniqueness will always be part of whatever you author.

Sorry for the late. i have bandwidth problem. @ilyastarar we have some similar goals. you have mehran (Boss) i have mehran. i just completed the degree of bs anthropology. i am hafiz_e_Quran. i also enjoy book reading not the hard book but in soft. suggest some good books that you like to read. The major part marriage hehehehehe. and also finding a job.

The Mehran belongs to my friend who won't sell it to me despite hundreds of requests. Ma Shaa Allah, nice to know about Hifz e Quran. Good luck for your employment.

Shokriya bhai g. your post are amazing love to read it. say to your friend give me the Mehran. if i become a whale i'll buy suzuki company. in shaaa Allah

It's totally inspired. However... if I may.. I would suggest you to set Study Qur'an at you first list of your 2018's goals.. as our prophet say in an hadith " the best among you is those who study Qur'an and practice it". All the best for you brother @ilyastarar. Resteemed ! Thats all I can do for you as my support.

It is first on my list of goals in my diary and whiteboard. This post does not list goals as per my prioritization. It takes into account the fact that I am writing for my readers as well, not just for myself.

I wish you good luck with your goals man!

With proper work and discipline you can achieve everyone of them!

Cheers!

You are so right. Effort and discipline are key to success in pursuit of any goals.

It looks like your year will be very busy. I wish you that your plans are transformed into real things. I also want to improve the house this year and plant more flowers in my garden. I wish you success on Steemit, you have very informative articles, I'm very sorry that I saw you so late!

wish you a good luck with your goals!
Hope Allah blesses his shower upon you to acheive,,

Wishing you the best of luck for 2018. I am very gald to know that you are planning to study Quran with translation. Inshallah I will also start to study tafser Quran.

Thank you so much. I do not study tafseer of it. Not yet. First, I need to study it without any human commentary involved and only then I can read tasfeer (which is always biased).

Very interesting to see how you try to answer all that comments.

I feel bad when I can't answer all the comments. It's a pleasure to receive comments from real people and I think it is a great disservice (primarily to myself) not to respond to comments. I also try to upvote comments. The number of comments I receive makes these upvotes smaller and smaller. I do hope to get more SP and then reward people appropriately, as well as respond to them.

Those are some great goals for steemit! My goal is to hit 60 rep this year and try to get 500 steem power. Hope one day I can get there!

Consistency will take you there in half the time you have set. It would also be useful to interact more often with people and build good relationships. Converting some of your SBD to Steem and them powering up will speed up the 500 SP goal.

Wow..about supporting poor kids, thats really generous of you...I hope you complete your goals sir.

Thank you very much!

Its quite an amusing and interesting fact that we can really feed our memories permanently into the steemit. Quite an innovative idea. Anyways best of luck for your goals.

Its really awesome ilyastarar bhai and i pray for you :) k ap apni and apny parent ki khidmat kar paay .

I do think when you have defined your goals, then put efforts and work hard. You eventually can make it.

I am wishing you good luck!

Thank you for your kind wishes. You are absolutely right about working hard.

your one of my guarantee list to be upvoted.. godbless you.. :D

good luck always friends @ilyastarar

this is really great to read your blog, where the 9 different challenges you are going to face in this year, woOOO!
this is first time for me to visit your blog, but really interesting just because aia started folloing you, upvoted and leaving a sweet comment for sweet @ilyastarar because you really deserve this one,
my love and support always will be there for you,

wish you a good luck for your goal InshAllah,

you are gonna achieve them ,,,

28512378_1597445493674340_697632020_n.jpg

what does it mean @ilyastarar

It means that you are sharing random images from the internet and most probably are fake.