Choices to Make...

in #life6 years ago (edited)

clouds.jpg

I've recently made the choice to live 100% alone, in an apartment. I'm moving in in about 9 days now!!! I'm honestly just tired of having roommates nowadays. It will be so nice to live on my own terms entirely. With respect to the building and occupants, of course. I can still grow food in my tower garden year round, so that will be so awesome to set up again soon <3 But as exciting as it is, it's equally intimidating to me. I'll need more money, if I want to cover the bills, and simultaneously live WELL... I'm honestly not sure why the allotted shelter amount for a person receiving PWD benefits in British Columbia is still only at $375/month... It's really not enough, with the support amount, for anyone to live with only themselves, but I'm going to try my hardest.

It seems that my options are as follows:

~ working Monday to Friday (at least part time)?
~ making jewellery more consistently?
~ painting more pictures onto canvas?
~ printing art onto bandanas/tapestries?
~ cleaning houses?
~ saving more money?

I think that working would give me access to a more reliable source of income, but in my experience so far, it has more often been detrimental to my happiness and overall mental health than not working... To be transparent with you, my doctor actually told me that I should not even work at all... :O I was diagnosed with Clinical Depression and a learning disability, so these paths tend to frustrate me, and leave me feeling inferior when other workers surpass me by a long shot... It's extremely difficult for me to do things that I don't morally agree with. I can't just go out and get any old job, it's got to be environmentally friendly, like cleaning houses, or gardening. But these are not common jobs during winter months, either.

Art is not as reliable, income-wise, yet it stimulates my being, and tends to actually bring me substantial and lasting joy, when I am not too far into my depressive episodes to keep up with the flow coming through me. I feel much more called to be an artist than anything, but at the same time, I have to keep myself off of the streets, and well-fed, ya know?

I have enough to cover rent and bills, but I am looking to enhance my quality of life.
I'm not entirely sure what to do, as it can be so hard to make money as an artist.
And I don't want to make a profit by contributing to some kind of harm of the Earth...
We won't even have an economy if we don't have a planet...

Can you see my dilemma?
Do you have any suggestions?
Would love to hear from the Steemit community about the eco-friendly ways you create abundance in your lives. Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Shay Fae! I hope it all comes together for you, ill wish on it :)

The right path will most certainly reveal itself in time :D

Keep working on steemit! I hear your struggles though I also have major depressive disorder. Stay well & best of luck

I will definitely keep it up! I love it here!

Hmm I have chickens but I suppose you cant do that haha. Why not make more art? Its really beautiful and I am sure you could make good money with your jewelery and stuff!
I have the same issue with the job thing, but I am lucky to have friends at Summerhill where I agree with what they are doing. And Steemit!
Anyways, I sure hope that you figure out a way that fits you shay, and that you have lots of abundance in your life!
Spring is just around the corner ;P

I have made good money with it before, it's just extremely hard to always be inspired to get it done :O

I feel ya on that one. Figuring out what to write on here can be like that for me haha.

Believe! :D

Doing my best, certainly!