You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Securing yourself adequately for today.... and a better model for tomorrow

in #life7 years ago

The reason I said that, is they ask you in the document to look for the service in Windows 7 as this:

"Look for the Intel Management & Security Application User Notification Service"

(Which I didn't find) but luckily for me, step 2 was discovering I'm running an AMD cpu, so bonus for me.. and that's probably why I didn't find that Windows Service running.

Sort:  

BTW, I stopped trusting Intel after this:

https://www.wired.com/1999/01/intel-on-privacy-whoops/

About 18 years ago Intel was giving each CPU a serial number which could be found by the operating system and software installed, which means your privacy was gone. That's probably when AMD did it's best year of business, because they weren't stupid enough to thwart their customer's privacy with a "new feature".

Every since then I didn't trust Intel, and I still don't. Obviously Intel hasn't learned their lesson yet...