My Georgy Cat Just Passed Away and My Heart is Broken

in #life4 years ago

A few weeks ago I made a post about taking Georgy to get euthanized. On the day of the appointment, the vet called and said they would have a hard time putting a catheter in due to his condition and would have to do it another way which would take over an hour. I didn't want to put Georgy through such a long process of death so I canceled the appointment.
I took it as a sign that maybe it wasn't time yet.
Even though he was having a hard time walking he was still eating and purring.
Over the last couple of weeks it has been a steady decline though.
Then yesterday he kept trying to move from place to place...trying to escape his pain. Every time he tried to walk he fell. And he stopped eating. No food yesterday and he didn't want to eat today.
It was time.

I would have preferred to go to a nearby vet so that he didn't have to suffer a long car ride, but the only vet open that took walk-ins was 30 minutes away in Beaumont.

So we went. Instead of putting him in the cat carrier that he hated, I was able to hold him in my arms during the whole drive.

Due to the Pandemic, only one patient was allowed inside the vet at a time and masks were required.

I was trying the whole time to hold in my tears and save them for after. Lately when I cry I have a problem breathing....I think I start hyperventilating...then that leads to a panic attack.
Plus, I wanted to give George soothing energy during his final moments.

I failed. I started crying hysterically and had to take the mask off because I couldn't breathe.
I held him and kissed him and told him how much I loved him as the vet administered the drug.

The vet was wonderful. She talked to Georgy in a soothing way throughout the whole process.

Shane and I could both feel Georgy purring during the process as well. I think he knew how much we love him and that he could finally be at peace.

I'm in pain emotionally. I have had Georgy for 19 years. He's been there for me during all the trials and tribulations of my often difficult life.... always offering joy, happiness, and purrs.

He was a loving and wonderful companion for 2 decades.
I hope he knows how much I will always love him.

Sweet Georgy
2001 - 2020

Sort:  

This is heartbreaking news, our heart goes out to you in these difficult times,
I know, losing a good kitty is like losing a son...
Me and Seb are sending you and Shane our most sincere condolences xxx

Thank you so much philodendron ❤️

I often regret about not having a pet but there is a good part of everything.This cat passed away after 19 years,I know it must be hard.Such a long time you had this cat.I went really emotional when I was reading about the part that you held him and started crying historically as the vet was administrating the drug.The cat was purring,he sure knew how much you loved him.Some people may not but I strongly believe that animals have feelings,they can understand our love and affection.

Thank you so much Philip ❤️

He knows of course @isaria, he always knew and will know it for ever when you finally meet him wherever it is.
I had some of those heart breaking losts during my life and the unique way for me to deal with it is getting stuck on my sweet memories with those beloved ones.
My best wishes and vibes over there 🤗🤗🤗

Thank you drakernoise ❤️

Sorry for your loss. :( Looks like he was a lovely cat!

Thank you Acidyo ❤️

Oh God. 19 years??! I'm really really sorry for your loss...

I've lost my little angel Rouka a long time ago, still grieving.
But, I believe that I'm gonna see her again in another life, a better place.

Thank you, I hope I get to see my Georgy again too. ❤️

19 years, wow, you must have looked after him well, sorry for your loss, atleast has no longer in pain. I know what you mean by knowing when the time is right, I had to get a past partners hamster put to sleep and I couldn't get my self to do it until when I saw how bad it was suffering, it seems to feel the right thing to do when you know its gotten so bad.

Thank you, yes it's so hard to know when the right time is.

There are no words Isa 💔 i am so so sorry for your loss but, omg just think 19 years of being loved that is wonderful life he was such a lucky guy!❤️

Thank you Victoria ❤️

So sad to lose a friend - and what a long life Georgy had <3 Incredibly to realize how much of your life's memories are tied to him as well. Wishing you strength <3

Thank you Rosa. Yes, such a long time and so many memories... makes it even harder to let go. ❤️

Sorry about your loss, I'm glad you got 19 long years with him though.

Thank you Ron ❤️

Sorry, to hear that Isaria, Georgy seems like a sweetheart! 😭

Thank you Qua ❤️

sad...really sorry for it.

It's always tough when a pet you've had so long passes away.

never give up no matter what attacks you if the cat loves you never give up and think about something esel

So sorry you lost your kitty. I went through this with two dogs over the past few years who died of old age. It is so hard to watch them suffer and you love them so much.

I feel a bit bad for voting this post with 100% because it almost feels as if I think it's nice you had your cat euthanized. But as a cat lover, my heart cries with you. Horrible moments when you have to bring your pet to the vet for this reason, and I can only say, I'm sure he will be in your heart forever. 19 years filled in your life as a loving owner, this was all you could do. Take care, and I hope you can enjoy the nice memories rather than having the sadness overwhelm your mood..