LONG HAUL FLIGHT WITH AN INFANT: first hand experience and advice

in #life7 years ago (edited)

This post is long overdue… ✔ I meant to share my experience but on arrival to Germany,
everything has been overwhelming, from Carl and I meeting his great grandparents to me starting language course!

I actually started drafting this at my class break time, that’s how busy I have gotten.
So,here we go…

There is a first time for everything and everyone has experienced a first time,there is usually some kind of anxiety.
For those who know me at personal level, I hate any kind of change which usually comes with anxiety.

Now, mentally I had been prepared for the flight like 3 months prior to the actual date I was to fly to Germany with my baby. When I got my visa, I realized I had a lot more to do than the mental preparation. If I was to travel alone it is usually an easy task. But with my son( who was 4 months old at that time) , I felt like I had to pack everything he own 😳

Anyway, here are some things I did
and I hope they will be helpful to some mothers out there!

🙋 Research on baby friendly airlines.

From Kenya to German, I had not much options to choose from but I had to Google about the few flight
choices I had and I settled for Turkish Airline with one stop over at Istanbul then connect to Berlin.

My experience with them was great considering I was flying economy class.
They provided a bassinet for my little one.

dsc_0607.jpg
My Darling was comfortable in the bassinet whenever he fell asleep

This was helpful because I could place him on it whenever he fell asleep or wasn’t cranky
and it was good for me because I could visit the washroom.

dsc_0606.jpg
I could place him to play or when I had to rush to the washroom

They also offer baby food but personally didn’t accept because my son is exclusively breastfeeding.

🙋 Pack days prior to your flight.
My mother usually says ” the earlier the better”

Lucky I had her around. She helped me pack like 3 days prior
and she is good at it so with her extra hands I could do other things like going to the salon.

🙋 Carry Baby’s favorite toys on your hand luggage

My boy has his favorites which keep him busy and calm. I had them in an accessible place in my hand luggage. I also had his Binky/pacifier at hand for when he is cranky and can’t feed him.

dsc_0601 (1).jpg
Carl had his binky and toys. Those are his car seat hangings but he loves them

🙋 Make your hand luggage your diaper bag or diaper bag your hand luggage

There is nothing as stressing and disorganized as having two bags and a baby.
Everything will be all over the place.
I had a sling bag, which I slid inside my baby’s diaper bag,for our passports.
If you are to carry your stroller, check with your airline of choice on policies with regard to that.

🙋 Choose a comfortable way of carrying your baby.

I personally have the baby ergo carrier and baby wrap. I chose the baby wrap,
because it is light weight and I can leave it tied around my body without it bothering my comfort.
With it I could feed my baby when taxing and landing without the need of an extra baby belt.

dsc_0594.jpg
Stepping out of my apartment. I got my wrap from toto wraps in kenya.

🙋 Feed your baby during taxing and landing.

This will prevent the baby’s ears from popping. With my baby wrap I could easily do this.
Another alternative is to have milk in a feeding bottle or any other liquid your baby loves.

🙋 Make friends/ be social

Being friendly has a lot of benefits…I mean if your baby is a cranky one ( mine isn’t) people will look at you meanly
if you were mean to them. Also, you can get a helping hand with holding the baby when you rush to the washroom.
I made friends with a Lady at the Jomo Kenyatta International airport and we sat together in the plane
and she was so good to my son and I. I actually felt like I was travelling with my mother.

dsc_0611.jpg
We made friends with this lovely lady who was on her way to see her grandson too

🙋 wear comfortable clothes

Do not forget to carry extra in the hand luggage incase baby spits up on you.

🙋 Arrive Early at the airport.

I reported 3 hours before departure. This helped me keep calm
and I was even able to have a hot chocolate and breastfeed my son.

Remember AN ANXIOUS MUM MAKES AN IRRITABLE BABY!

We had a great flight and Carl never cried, contrary to my expectation.
Considering I was traveling alone with him, he gave me a very easy time.

Till next time

Sheila