Yours truly - Guest of Honor and Speaker

in #life6 years ago (edited)

11 years ago I graduated as first honor or valedictorian in Tubburan Elementary School. To be in the first seat of our graduation rites was overwhelming yet challenging, because I know that after that program the teaching staff of that school will have a high expectations and they will look after me. Wow! Pressure is real! Hahahaha. But I guess, after all the bumpy rides in my life, I was able to, somehow , meet their expectation and make them proud. So after 11 years, I came back to my Alma Mater and was invited to be their GUEST OF HONOR & SPEAKER of their 35th Graduation Ceremony.

20180406_183409-01.jpeg

Whenever I see invitation of an occasions and attend ceremonies I asked my self "what seems to be the criteria for to be a guest speaker?". Month of April, 2018, those questions were answered.

At first, when they asked me to be their guest speaker, I doubted my self. A lot of thoughts of - "I can't do it because I don't deserve to be one" on my mind. Compared to those guest speakers I met, I am really miles away from their success in life. I asked my self "why me? not my batch mate who are teachers and engineers, why me?". But you know what aside from those doubts there was this other side on my mind that says ''Go Jessa! You can do it!" then I realized that this is an amazing opportunity, but still I doubted my self at first. Hehehe. I gave my self 72 hours to think then I finally decided to say YES to their invitation.





To be a guest speaker is not about being rich, having a high positions or having additional letters on your name but its all about being a determined individual, has a talent and stories to tell that can be an inspiration to everyone. Me? I didn't worked in a prestigious company, I worked in a BPO Company. 😍

20180406_180044.jpg

I was pleased to be part and joined the graduates and proud parents on this wonderful occasion. I can't believe that I am now a successful woman. I may not have the things that those very successful individual out there have but I can proudly say even I only have a few things to show, I achieved it all with my hard works. If you achieved your dreams - you can actually say that you're successful even in the simplest way.

20180406_180058.jpg

I can't believe I am sitting besides the School Superintendent of District II Ilocos Norte. I was just greeting him before on my speech. 😍

20180406_180222.jpg

Happy faces with the Teaching Staff of Tubburan Elementary School and the graduates. Thank you all!

The preparation of being the guest speaker was hard, I never thought it was. It is hard how to make a speech. How to start the speech, what to highlight on the speech and how to finish the speech. I need to make sure that my message to everyone most especially the graduates will motivate them and something that they can learn from. It was hard like doing a thesis. Hehehe. From the day i said yes to them, I started making my speech and squeezing my brain. I don't know if my speech was good enough but to see everyone laughing, smiling and some are crying I can say - it was worth it!

Here are some parts of my speech.

My battle cry in this talk right now is just simple. I will start it by reminiscing and revisiting my timeline when I was in elementary up to now. I will start when I was in grade 1. I was so young at that time and I never knew the significance and importance of education. Maybe it is just normal as a happy-go-lucky-child. All in my head was playing instead of schooling. Then a tragic came, when I was in grade 1 my father left us. Yes, he was shot and killed. Nobody can understand the broken heart that comes from a little girl losing her father. I am too young to when my father left us, but I am too young to know what the world is. Without a father while studying is heart breaking. Some days are harder than others, most of the hard days involve me thinking about what he has missed out on from the past 16 years. But I never stopped making him proud because I know that he is watching me from above, But I am thankful to God because he gave me a strong mother. Mother, who gave everything just for our dreams.

Life has several surprises. Don’t expect that everything will happen the same as our plan. Make sure that you’re ready to face the variance of life. Do not expect that everything will go through as plan. Don’t stop dreaming to dream is important. We should have a dream, at least one, as a minimum. Dreaming is significant. Dreaming is valuable, even if there is no assurance that we can achieve all of them, because the moment we dream something for ourselves or for our families, we will realize that there will be reasons of our existence here on earth. If we dream, we have something to look forward to; we have something to achieve. To dream is to find our direction; which way shall we take. By dreaming those impossible dreams, we can realize that there will be realities that we have to face. Graduates, students, I encourage you to dream.


I will end my speech with the following passage: Yesterday I was clever, so I wanted to
change the world. Today, I am wise, so I am changing myself. Thank you and god bless.


Thank you God for this opportunity and blessing! You're the best oh LORD!



MUCH LOVE - Jessa



Sort:  

Keep it up! Kryptonia username: @riyuwe

Sooo proud of you! ❤️ Uray paulit ulit ko nga ibagbaga hehe.

Thanks ateee ghen. Uray nakla maka sangit. Hahaha

That was a wonderful speech to share @itsjessamae big rocks can stand in the way, moving them and moving on in life is what counts.

Proud and free by hard work and being a pleasant person, looking back on life I think that is an accomplishment.

Wow! Your message was amazing! Thank you so much!

Nice one, keep it up. kryptonia id @chetachi26

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by itsjessamae from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

yes you got it right ,, to be someone respected is not about been rich ..... all u need is your impact in the society and self determination ,, from kryptonia @everdope

Congrats! You are guest speaker because your alma mater find something valuable from you that is worth sharing!! Upvoted and commented by rubelynmacion of krypto

Wish everything good will come to you!
upvote by @ziggy

to be a guest speaker is a big privilege to help the youth for their future endeavor to be a good example of someone who work hard and striving to reach their dreams.Congratulation.

kryptonia @january22secret

Good post. Congratulations

Interesting article, please continue the good job. @grace234

I like this post really @ofili2

Nice post
Itsjessamae

This is a wonderful honor. Thank you for sharing it with us. "Today, I am wise, so I am changing myself." <<<< Awesome!!!!!

I'm coming to you from @kryptonia with the same user name.

Woooah!! Congrats! It was a great privilege for you to encourage the next generation! God bless u more @gracealone

Congratulations, Kryptonia id @isabelpena

Lots of happy faces and I'm from Kryptonia @ianstevenson

Great speech! Well done!

From Kryptonia

Congratulations!! Great speech! Glad to see you're doing well on steemit as well :)

What a beautiful message to deliver! Public speaking can be very hard, good for you for having the courage to follow through. @edgarbevens from kryptonia

great post

its good to share your experiences to the graduate! Kryptonia @jemacris01

Congratulations
And its a good thing to be a guest speaker because it helps you to be more outspoken and exspressive
Kryptonia @bitcoinpaul

I was touch on your speech... very inspiring from @reatimtim of kryptonia