Beauty from Loss

in #life6 years ago (edited)

January 23rd 12 years ago we Lost our beautiful grandmother to cancer. She was just an amazing person its easy to see her in my mother. It was an incredibly hard time for us, for myself. I became somewhat bitter because of it. I would do anything for some more time with her.

grandma.jpg

January 23rd 3 years ago I was blessed with a beautiful baby boy. I remember having a hard time. You see time heals but you never forget. I gave birth to my baby boy on a day that was looked at as a day of loss. I wasn't sure how to feel about it at first, but I realize now that out of the 365 days in a year that he could have been born on, this was the perfect day. I no longer look at the 23rd as a sad day. I see my blue eyed baby growing up year by year and I often think how proud she would have been of me and my kids. How much she would have loved them.

christian baby.jpgchristian 3.jpg

I don't forget her because of the memories, ones I often share with my kids. My Son born on the day she left us. My daughter holds her name. I hold the memories of her in my childhood and a rose that will stay printed forever on my right shoulder.