My Amazon Delivery Person Was Feeling Lazy This Morning....

in #life3 years ago (edited)

I had forgotten I was supposed to get an Amazon delivery today. When Alexa alerted me that a shipment had arrived I was busy, so went out to get the package a little bit later.

When I opened the door to retrieve it from the porch, I saw that it was down on the second step.

Oh bother.... ha ha

1.jpg

I guess the Amazon delivery person just didn't have the energy to walk up two steps and get it up on the covered porch. It was a VERY light weight box, so I'm not sure what was up with that as they normally do manage to hit the porch. It is a very gray cloudy day today and if it had decided to rain before I got out there, this package would have gotten wet.

2.jpg

Even though I"m telling it, it is truly not a big deal to me in the grand scheme of things and it isn't ruining my day, but still, one of those things that makes you go hmmmmmmmmmmm

3.jpg

It had this warning on it that I had never seen before... oh my ! Global response and all that.....

4.jpg

Seems it was because of this pack of batteries that I purchased for my glucose meter. I'm sure I have read some kind of story before way back, but who on a normal daily basis thinks about these small disc batteries possibly exploding ???? Not me !

I also had purchased a thermometer for a small freezer I just bought because the knob only has low, medium & high on it. The paperwork recommended the medium being the "normal" setting, but didn't say how cold that should be. I was just curious enough to want to know what the temperature is, so now I will be able to tell.

I also bought one of the resqme car seat belt cutter / glass breaker tools. I have wanted one for years, but somehow the thought and the time and place had not come together, but 2 days ago I read the "Are You Prepared" post by @galenkp and it reminded me I really needed to get one. I included it on my Amazon order for only $10.95. Now I'm wondering if my brothers and sisters have one of these and if not, if it would be a good token Christmas gift this year. I'll be thinking on that. Hopefully there will never be a need to use it.... but just in case.

5.jpg

In my description on this post I wrote "and if I am offended it means I am arrogant". One night about a week ago I was ready for bed, but not quite ready to give up on the day, so I spent my last few minutes in my comfy chair flipping channels and landed on the Christian channel just in time to hear someone say that when people are easily offended is because they are arrogant. It was one of those statements that made my mind pause for a moment and since then I have thought about it a time or two more. I never thought of it that way, but I think it may be right. Something to ponder.... right ?

Ok.... That's it for the moment.....

Hope you are all doing well and having a happy day. I am off today and will not go back to work (across the room) till next Monday... Yay !

Love you !

Jacey

Sort:  

Congratulations @jacey.boldart! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 6000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 7000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

It's great to hear you bought a ResQMe tool. I purchased another four pack yesterday as I'm giving a few away as gifts. Nice working taking a bit of time to think about safety and being prepared. ✅

I can't remember how many years ago it was, but one of my nephews was going out for a visit with my Mom, which causes a few miles of riding through the country side. He came upon a one car accident, not horrid, but still, a young mother, who had a young baby strapped in a car seat in the back, had gotten out of her car to check the damage and the door had accidentally locked when it closed. She was frantic because her baby was in the car. Neither was hurt, but she was very upset. My nephew told her someone would be there soon, but she didn't want to wait. He had a similar tool and told her he could break a window so she could get the child out, but it may be costly. She didn't care, so he used the tool to break the glass and she was so thankful to get that baby back in her arms. After hearing that, I wanted one too, but I never seemed to think of it at opportune times, I'm happy to have it now.

A perfect story of how a little preparation can make a massive difference.

I actually used a similar example last night with someone. Come across a wreck, fuel leaking, doors jammed shut...I think using a $20 (AUD) tool to pop the window is better than one's head, which may or may not actually work anyway.

It may not be one's own life we save by having one of these things, but saving someone else's is just as rewarding, and even if they still die in, or after, the wreck at least a person has the chance to avoid ongoing guilt by knowing they at least tried to help and were prepared enough to do so.

Thanks for your engagement, I appreciate it.

!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

wow that's pretty shitty of the delivery guy.. good thing nobody took the package.. :)

I know ! Right?!....

Yes, what if (like you said) it would be raining. Such a small effort to put it close to the door.. come on lol..