No Alarm !

in #life4 years ago (edited)

.... and believe me !! I was NOT smiling like this when I realized it !

little me in bed.jpg

(That's me in 1963. I'm six )

I have my Alexa programmed to sound an alarm each weekday at 6:30 AM. This morning, she failed me. I usually tell her to snooze twice after but .... what happened??? I don't have ANY idea !

The light was still dim because it was cloudy outside and so I lazily ask her what time it was, thinking it surely was about time for her to wake me. When she said "The time is 8:03".... I flew straight up in the bed, jumped out (bad knee and all).... ran to my computer to log on and .... the log in program took 5 minutes to come up ! Dash it all !

I signed in late ! Something I have nearly never done in my life. Before logging onto my phone, I dashed through the house, tore off my gown and grabbed a pretty lounger over my head while heading to the bathroom, then the kitchen to put water in my lidded cup and as I came back through, I grabbed a granola bar, stopped back at the bathroom, almost started to brush my hair, but no... forgetaboutit ! I think I did that all in less than 2 minutes....LOL... but I was harried and discomboobalated ..... arrggghhhh....

There isn't a whole lot I dislike more than being rushed, especially when I first get up. I logged onto my phone, but I was still in a daze !

I got through the morning, steadily talking myself down, I mean really, after I got woke up the rest of the day was just normal... .right??

I kept myself in good spirits by reminding myself that as soon as I logged off at 5, I had another 3 day weekend ahead. YAY!!

Somehow though, it is over now and I am still alive. 😂

So while I am here I wanted to post an update on a painting I did a couple of weeks ago. I loved how the colors came out on the tree and the background, but a little something was missing. (I'm not sure a little something more isn't still missing ...but...), last weekend I added the tire swing to it which made me adore it more. It is always a gamble to add something to a background that can't be restored exactly if the addition doesn't go well, but this time, all good !

20200906_111928.jpg

That made it funner .... right ??

Now.. .this weekend's project. Below is a photo from Amazon. I ordered this love seat sized glider that looks like the old timey ones. I thought it was adorable. They have the "sofa" size like in the old days, but I wanted to put it on the end of my porch and this smaller one is the perfect size. I can only imagine it could be a witch to put together, but I somehow always manage to get it done. I'm good at stuff like that and I like to do it.

Glider.jpg

The glider was delivered today and I pushed the box into the house from the porch just now, so it is sitting there just waiting for me to tear into it. I will post another photo this weekend when I get it done.

Hope you are all doing well and that your hearts are happy.

Love you !

Jacey

Sort:  

I have picked your post for my daily hive voting initiative, Keep it up and Hive On!!

Thank you !! I appreciate it. 🙂

Ah the wonderful sound of the Morning Alarm, get up get going and do something Alarm. Stop being lazy, don't take time for the pleasure of a few more minutes in bed, get up and go go go like a five alarm fire. Run run hurry and sweat, don't be late you might regret.

I am so so glad that I no longer have to have an alarm clock. The best advantage ever to being retired. I suppose I could go back to those days, but I like just sleeping in.

I long for the day....

I normally have my alarm set where I can snooze it a time or two before I really need to get up, so when it goes off, I know I can snuggle in for a few more moments. It's unnatural to get up before you wake up on your own. An unfortunate necessary evil in today's working world.

An unfortunate necessary evil in today's working world.

Yes it was. One of the biggest benefits to retired life, although people, experts that are not retired, keep trying to say stay on a schedule, heck my body knows it schedule, it even likes afternoon naps sometimes.

I would say your body knows better than the experts !

am in love with that glider rocker, I know Amazon gets flack but it really makes it easy to get things for a lot of us especially with covid making wanting to go to stores not on the top of my to do list........

Someone said I should have extra money since I can't go out shopping. I told them they were forgetting about Amazon. I can spend quite the bit just sitting here at my desk and they bring it right to my door.

I really liked shopping the consignment shops before though. Fun finds that other people don't want anymore and cheaper than new too most of the time. I do miss that.

I hope the glider building is going good!

I opened the box in the middle of the night last night, drug out the parts and studied the instructions for a while. Thought I would get up and start on it first thing, but I'm still sipping coffee and playing on my computer !

Maybe later.

That's such a lovely picture of you as a kid! <3 Gorgeous curly hair too :D