You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: For the Love of a Burger

in #life4 years ago (edited)

Oh Wow ! I could barely believe my eyes when I saw you had posted ! I've missed you and I hope you and your family are doing well.

Now.... How disappointing !!! I'd be looking for somewhere to do an online review while that raw imposter was still sitting on the table. Ugh !

I do love those photos. 🙂

Although I haven't kept a list, I have been disappointed multiple times over the last few years as restaurants and other food makers have changed their products, most of the time to make them cheaper I am guessing, but in the process, totally ruining a good product. I am expecting the lovely taste and experience I have had through the years, only to find some tasteless wannabe has replaced the original greatness. So sad !

You didn't mention if there were still rosemary fries.

I'm glad you didn't get poisoned.

Sort:  

That is very sweet of you to miss me. I missed you too. We are doing well, thank you.

As it turns out I did leave an online review, and it was not long after the burger left the table. Do you overthink that sort of thing like I do? I will write it, trying to be honest and not sound dramatic, because I know people like myself will be reading it and assume that the writer is just a fuss pot if they say something like "I did not order a side of food poisoning." But who can resist a play on words? Not me, that's who. You know what I mean? Probably not, I think this is a personal problem. Moving on.

I have to admit that I too am one of these have-to-tinker-with-perfection folks. Can't make a recipe twice. Have to fix it, even if it is perfect. Are you the sort that has those tried and true recipes that you make and it is perfect but the same every time? A lot of people are, and good for them, I will just be over in the kitchen throwing in some chocolate chips and contemplating if a bit more butter would help matters. But I agree with you, I hate purchasing inconsistency - damn all those other people and companies that are just like me ;)

They did have the rosemary fries, and they did not screw them up. I actually congratualated them on that in the review...in a way that might have sounded dramatic.

I'm glad I didn't get food poisoning either! Yay for a tough gut.

I'm glad you did a review. I try to be fair. I realize more folks that are unhappy write reviews than people that are happy, so the numbers are never quite real. I try to leave some when everything is good too. I have left some though where I mentioned the food wasn't as good as it used to be on a couple where the next generation has taken over and decided they could do it better than how the food was, that kept that business open for 50 years or more already. Best way to sink a place is mess with recipes that have already proved to be tried and true.

For home though, I try a recipe as written the first time. If it is wonderful, I don't mess with it, but if is is almost good but just needs a tweak, I will do that when I make it the second time. If it isn't that good the first time, I trash it. :)

I think I can afford to tweak my home recipes, but if you are a business and I have been coming to you for years for the same good food, I don't want you to change it.... and I mean it !! ha ha.... the world... according to me.

Agreed, businesses should be sticking with their tried and true. Or in the least don't hire strange slim-eating cooks to make the new recipe :)

You are a practical cook at home. I could use a bit more practicality in my kitchen sometimes.