Thanksgiving Is Done....Time To Haul Out Christmas !

in #life3 years ago (edited)

Time to drag it all out and splash it all around. That is easy for me to type, but the task seems a bit daunting in the real.

1.jpg

Not so much you are thinking ?? Well... that is because you couldn't see the layers hidden to the left.

2.jpg

But wait ! There's MORE !! ~giggle~

That's right, I'm making this short blog to put it off... and then I might need to eat to make sure I have the energy... and then wait a while for it to settle....LOL !!!

3.jpg

I did put up one of my vintage aluminum trees last night, that's right, I didn't start till midnight, so there is still hope for today.

I will tell you a neat story about it before too long after I make myself go grab out a few photos. It would help if I didn't have a gazillion of them to choose from.

20181229_104917.jpg

I know I am going to be SO happy when it is done. I actually like doing it, but I just don't have all the "oomff" I use too, so it seems like a bigger task.

Imma do it though... I promise... .no really. 😆

Hope you are all doing well and that your hearts are happy.

Love ya !

Jacey

Sort:  

Hahahaha you made me giggle too after your giggle :)
But seriously. All those boxes are JUST Christmas decorations?

The only thing that is not Christmas in that closet (I call it my attic closet) is at the bottom of the first photo, in the center there is a small nightstand that has other things in it and In the third photo, not shown under what you CAN see to the right is a large container or two of other things, like cake pans. All across the top, all on the left and all you can see on the right..... all Christmas related of some sort. That does not included dishes and stemware stored in the cabinets in the kitchen over the frig.

Every time I take it out or put it up I try to get rid of some of it, but it rarely fails that I then add something new and wonderful before next time. What's worse is that I use to live in a bigger place and had more places to display than I do now. Now.... I end up leaving a little in the boxes, even though I'd rather have it all out.

Decisions, decisions.... 😄

Haha I can never resist getting something new.. but I still manage to fit all into one paper shopping bag :p

You mean, only one paper shopping bag at a time??... or ALL of your Christmas decor will fit in one bag? If it's that latter, I don't even know what to think about that ! LOL

A lot of mine is an accumulation of years and some have sentimental attachments. I love it all, but there is some truth in my kidding around about it being more than I have the energy to deal with these days. I know I have too much (not that I ever thought there was such a thing as too much)....and who knows, maybe I will find away to whittle it down some, but it really IS hard to let go.

Hahahaha nooo
I mean ALL my Christmas decorations fit into one paper bag :D
Thats just my own ones. It does not include the stuff in boxes in my family home. There we also have very old decorations that we sometimes don't even hang on the tree, so that they don't break :p. And yeaaa a lot more stuff.
It is hard.. especially, as you say, has sentimental value.
And then we clutter more and more... :D :D

Haha! Oh, El!! You are hysterical! I know how hard that is, to choose! Especially downsizing houses.

I love your tinsel tree!! Dont make me come down there to help you!!

PS... thats a lot of boxes! Lets get crackin!!

I just noticed the "Believe" subliminal message in my first photo ! 😂 I believe I can, I believe I can, I believe I can .... I believe.....

That would be SO fun to decorate together ! I bet we'd laugh ourselves silly.

I've got baubles on the tree now and a couple of baubles on the ends of the curtain rods. A gingerbread man or two has been hung and I'm on the way back to the living room with a snow family.... It's beginning to look a lot like Christmas around here.

I had out the shiny red and mercury green balls that I used last year and at the last minute, on a whim, I put on some dark red balls with a matt finish. It thought it might look weird, but I kind of like the contrast.

20201128_231855_HDR1.jpg

Yes!! The red is perfect!!

I like it, but had never thought about putting anything on except the very shiny ones.

Several years ago I saw a small kitchen tree on pinterest that only had the dark, almost wine colored, matt finished balls on it and I loved the green and dark red. At some point I found some on sale and bought them..... and then never used them. They at least 3 years old and this is the first time they've been out of the box ! I tried to give them to my sister last year for her "farmhouse" tree, but it didn't work, I still have them. LOL

Yes!! We would make winter wonderland, for sure!! That would be fun!

I have red matte ones too!!

I love your shiny Christmas trees and I'm so glad that you have them up already. My decorating is going to be very limited/non existent this year. I don't have the oomph and no one will be here for the holidays anyway.

Hi Melinda !

I use to always put up a BIG tree. I've had some artificials that truly looked real when all decked out, but oh my ! ..they took so much time and energy from start to finish. I would still enjoy doing and seeing it....if only I had that much energy left ! LOL .....so that is one of the beauties of my sweet vintage tree, it takes so little time to put the limbs in, a few ornaments on and plug in the color wheel. I can't say it carries the same place in my heart that my more traditional trees have held, but it still warms my heart to have something up.

Since I've been on my own, I've had Christmases where only a few people saw any of my Christmas trees or decorating other than what I have shared on the net. Most of our family gatherings were in Mom's home or the home of other siblings who have the space to fit us all in. I have still done it for me though. Although there have been a couple of years along the way that I considered not putting up a tree of some kind or putting out some of my other happy pieces. Eventually I finally gave in and at least did some of it and after, I was glad I did. It helped my happiness level.

I'm thinking you at least need a small tree of some kind, maybe even one that goes on a table. Something easily manageable that will still give off a happy glow and maybe just a few of your favorite pieces, something highly manageable to take out and put up for times like these.

Below is an old photo at my Great Grandmother Websters house. Not sure how I was there when the tree went up.. ha ha.... but this is her (on the right) and the back of my Grandmother Cheek (my Mom's Mom)putting up her little tree. When I was growing up there was always a big tree there, but in her later years, this was it ! Hey... we do what we can with what we have.... right ?

MAWEBSTERANDMACHEEK037.jpg

img_0.040956820567546674.jpg

My daughter thinks like you. She brought this tree over and came in long enough to place it prominently in view from my comfy chair! Instant Christmas!

I love your old family photos!

That is SO pretty !

Now a couple of mini balls and a short string of white lights....LOL ! I know, I know..... if it's in the bottom of a pile of boxes, it's still a pain.

You really can't beat live greenery with a sprig or two of red berries. Classic

Maybe a string of lights across the mantal.... :)

I'll be happy if I remember to water the tree! I would love to keep it alive until spring so that it could be planted out in the yard. I do have a few lights easily available and may get around to putting them on the tree!