This is not fiction

in #life6 years ago

pBfPF6frjrG0.jpg

In this cab from a physiotherapy session. I occupy the front seat. Two nurses are seated behind, talking. One is beautiful, light-skinned and slim. The other is dark and equally lovely. See their conversation made it clear to me that some women are the reasons behind the misbehaviour of some men. They reason like their female ancestors, and use it to destroy their own lives, by allowing spaces for needless patriarchy.

Light-skinned Nurse: (Wiping sweat off brows) I can't wait for my fixed savings to hit N2.3M in April, so I can get myself a car, to ease my mobility needs. This hot Port Harcourt sun isn't friendly at all. What with the rains approaching.

Dark-skinned Nurse: Ahhh! Why would you even say that? Don't! It's totally wrong for you to get a car as an unmarried young woman, how much more at this tender age of 25. Don't even reason it my sister.

Light-skinned Nurse: Really? In what constitution or part of the bible is that written?

Dark-skinned Nurse: None! But seeriously, you know today's world. If a young woman like you owns a car, you're likely never going to attract a man to marry you, because he will feel that you can't be submissive to him, and would always challenge his authority. Take it from experience, I am 29.

Light-skinned Nurse: You don't say! Wow! Oh well, I intend owning landed properties and businesses. I have no interest in cowardly men who may feel intimidated by my independent nature. The right man for me will find me, be bold enough to love me, support me and fan the flames of my life's goals and purpose. To only such man, will I submit myself as a wife.

Driver: (to light-skinned nurse) My daughter, listen to your friend. Na* true she dey talk.
Man hard to find nowadays, and woman be like flower, beauty dey* quick die.
Save that money, use am support your marriage when man come. Woman no dey* get property o. My brother, how you reason this matter? (He tries to drag me into the conversation)

Me: (To the light-skinned nurse) Every reasonable and sane gentleman should be interested in an independent woman like you, and not threatened. Buy your cars, landed properties and businesses like you said. Never allow anyone tell you to narrow down your vision for a man. I'm proud of you and you shall go far in life with this mentality.
(She thanks me and beams with smiles, as an eerie silence engulfs the cab).