I finally made it to Potato chip Rock (A true story)

in #life7 years ago (edited)

The elusive Potato Chip rock (seen above) at the top of MT. Woodson, is a challenging enough hike on its own, without the 95+ heat to contend with. Potato Chip Rock is a must see for anyone visiting San Diego, as it is a narrow piece of jutting rock 2000 ft up that overlooks all of Ramona. It can be reached from Lake Poway by traversing a long and perilous trail, or by hiking Mt. Woodson.

Image credit: altrails.com

Two friends and I decided to give it a go, after having lived in San Diego our whole lives and having never been. We decided to meet there and I took several pictures on the way, as it can be seen from about 50 miles away. Here is my first clean view of it while heading up Poway rd to the 67 freeway.

Image credit: me

Here is a picture from near the base of Mt. Woodson.

Image credit: also me

Here is a picture from right before you start on the trail.

Image credit: me

We started up with plenty of Gatorade and water, and slowly made our way up the hill. We passed a lot of people, who might not have had the cardio or drink supply we did. As we got higher and higher we started seeing amazing views as we looked off the mountain.

Image credit: all me
After an hour and 2200 ft of climbing straight up the face of Mt. Woodson, we made it to the top. When we got to the room we found lots of radio and communication equipment. We also found several spots where large rocks haven amazing views of the countryside (see below).

All image credits: me

After exploring the top of the mountain we found a number of people at Potato Chip Rock, and my phone took the perfect moment to die. Although we made it to Potato Chip Rock, next time I will come back with an extra camera so I can actually get pictures of it. I firmly recommend this hike to anyone coming to San Diego, or anyone from San Diego who has morning done it yet.

Sort:  

It's amazing that people can stand that far out on potato chip rock! You are brave!