The Horses and High Voltage

in #life8 years ago

So, a few hours of yesterday were spent fixing the electric fence that my wifes horse had gone through.

Now we knew the fence wasn't working correctly and thought it was a fault with the energiser, in case you don't know basically it's the box that you conect to the battery and then the fance.

So, how do you check a fence that you are not sure is working??

Usually we have a volt meter that checks the current is flowing but since that has been missplaced (not sure if intentional) it was up to me to test the fence by touching it. (DO NOT TRY THIS AT HOME FOLKS).


I can confirm that the fence was not working and aftr checking the lenght of the field and finding a couple of places it might be shorting I can also confirm that after holding it in several places it works.

Thankfully I can also confirm the battery is getting low and needs replacing as it didn't give me as much of a kick as it should have and I only swore twice with shock.


Spare battery now fully charged and ready to go on but my lovely wife can take that up without me as I don't intend on testing that one out :-)


So that was my day yesterday, how was yours??

Previous posts : 

https://steemit.com/story/@jameshowarrd/jack-the-healthy-eating-nut-job-an-original-short-story

https://steemit.com/life/@jameshowarrd/my-minds-gone-blank

Sort:  

It all pales when you look at that beautiful animal.... you need to keep it safe and secure.