Universe always gives us what we ask for, but are we asking for the right thing?

in #life7 years ago

monks-1822569_1920.jpg

Monks – Daughter, what is it you want?

Woman – I want happiness.

Monks – What is happiness for you?

Woman - A loving husband, couple of cute children, wealth, prosperity and success

Monks – What will you do after your wishes are fulfilled?

Woman – I will live happily ever after!

Monks – May God bless you and fulfill your desires

Couple years later…………….

Woman – Holy monks, I am still not happy.... My husband loves me but I am not his priority. My children are very sweet but they drive me crazy! We have the most expensive house in our district, but it’s smaller my friend’s house. I got promoted at work, but I am still not the boss! Why are my prayers not being heard? I want happiness.

Monks - What is happiness for you?

Woman – I want my husband to prioritize me. I want my children to respect me and make my life easy. I want a bigger house than my friend's. I want to be the boss in my office and I want more success.

Monks – What will you do after your wishes are fulfilled?

Woman – I will live happily ever after!

Monks – May God bless you and fulfill your desires

Couple more years later…………….

Woman – Holy monks, I am still not happy. My husband prioritizes me and does whatever I ask of him, but he does not love me as much as more. My children don’t drive me crazy but they fear me more than they love me. My house is bigger than my friend's, but she is happier than I am! I am at the boss at my work, but I am tired and stressed each day when I get home and cannot even eat peacefully or sleep well. Why are my prayers not being heard? I want happiness.

Monks - What is happiness for you?

Woman – I want my old life back…

Monks – What will you do after your wishes are fulfilled?

Woman – I will live happily ever after!

Monks – May God bless you and fulfill your desires

..........And the circle of wishes and desires continues..........

Have we stepped back and thought about what happiness really means to us? What are we willing to give up to get something that will make us happier in the long-run? Are we running after material things that give us temporary pleasure?

Universe always gives us what we ask for, but are we asking for the right thing?

What is happiness for you? Post your comments here!

Thank you for your time and stopping by !

Sort:  

Congratulations @jars! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Good story! And very pertinent too in the times we live in. We see decreasing happiness amidst increasing comforts. It is human nature to be restless in all situations. It is almost as if we are searching for some missing element in life in any given situation. Yes the missing element is happiness but we need to understand that happiness is a subjective phenomenon. We cannot find happiness outside, in the scheme of things around us.
We need to look inward to find true happiness. We need to strike the fine balance between aspiration & contentment.

Well said ! We are looking for happiness outside when it is really within us that we need to look at. It begins with being content with whatever we have... thank you for stopping by!

Great post !!!
Follow me and i will follow you !!!
and lets do the upvote and comments exchange !!!

Great article.
Upvoted

Congratulations @jars! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!