MY story and tips on how to lose weight

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Hello steemians!

I've known a lot people in the last 3-4 years that makes exercise trying to lose fat and get thin but they don't do what they must do to achieve their goal.

As it says in my profile, I'm a gym addict, but this was not always the case. I used to be fat, not obese, but yes, fat, and in my first year studying in the university I decided that I wanted to change that.

I'm no expert and I'm not trying to pretend I am, but I'll tell you my story and what I did to got slim and eventually got ripped.

If you are fat and you want to burn all that, you have to know there are two factors: Food and exercise.

EMAG_balanced_meal_shutterstock_54369673_TOP_0.jpg

Food: You may have read or heared about the "diet" of eating about every three hours. The science behind this is that the natural processes of the body (Eating, processing food, going to the bathroom) usually can help us keep our weight if we don't eat so much junk food, because they burn a lot of calories.

The body tends to process food in about three hours. So, by eating every three hours, you keep your body in a constant food processing, meaning that it can be constantly burning calories. People sometimes call this to accelerate your metabolism.

By doing this you push your body to burn as much calories as possible just by eating (And come on, who does not like eating?). But the thing is that you have to eat healthy too. I won't get too deep on this because everyone knows about it, but I will give examples: NO Coca Cola (Or similar), NO junk food, NO alcohol (But let's be real, we can't keep alcohol completely out of our lives), and all that kind of things.

I try to eat as much protein I can, and try to avoid flour-based food in the night (This last one depends on the person, the body and a lot of things, but this is what I do). Eating fruits and drinking a lot of water helps too because it helps you feel full and keeps you away from junk food cravings.

jump-rope.jpg

Exercise: Ok, this is where most people fails. To lose weight, it is IMPERATIVE to do cardio, and by this I don't mean like 15 minutes walks on your street, no, I mean +45 minutes of real cardio.

The body starts to burn fat around past the first 30 minutes of cardio, so that's why I say +45 minutes. Of course, that depends on the intensity, but I'm talking about normal runs in a racetrack or something like that.

When I started to exercise, I used to jump the rope for about an hour. I opened some space in my bedroom and hit play on my favorite music albums, mostly rock and metal to keep me excited.

I started at about 80kg if I remember correctly. After some weeks, focused and giving it my all, the resulst were that I was around 65kg, give or take. I don't remember the exact numbers because I did not do a "before/after" picture or something like that, but I'm pretty sure the numbers are around that.

As I said earlier in the post, I'm not an expert and don't pretend to be, this is just my story and how I got away from my fat body. I started around March 2013 and by July I was already slim and ripped.

I don't usually take pictures of myself, but I'll show you the difference in some pictures of travels and stuff I found in my pc:

This is me pre-exercise (Mid 2012), and in 2013 when I started, was worse:

phoca_thumb_l_DSC_9134.jpg

And this is me post-exercise (Mid 2014):

IMG-20140705-WA0068.jpg

(End 2014):

IMG-20141103-WA0004.jpg

I don't have pictures closer to the time I started or to the time of good results, but I think those are good examples.

Any question, just ask!

Thanks for reading and hope you liked it!

Don't forget to share, upvote and follow!!!

Sort:  

This is good news. Well done!