You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Secure Are Your Funds on the Steem Blockchain?

in #life6 years ago

Well said my man! A lot of stolen funds indeed occur because of a user making a fatal error. Accidentally posting their key in a memo for example ;)

There really needs to more emphasis on new users being told how to use posting and active keys within the first week after sign up. I get why it's a bit daunting to do so immediately since lots of new users on Steemit specifically come from "no crypto-background" like i did, however after a week of orientation.. that really needs to be emphasized. I think that I used my Master Key for a few month before realizing how dumb that was haha.

All be it, I barely had anything to steal during that time anyway ;)

Sort:  

I understand what you mean about more emphasis placed on the importance of the functions of those precious keys. I also used my master key for ages until being told otherwise.

Nice suggestions, man. I'm sure that'll be implemented in the sign-up process some time in the future. :)