How To Motivate Yourself To Capture Great Images!

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I am determined to bring over to STEEMIT as many new artist to the site from other social media platforms as I can possibly wrangle in with post like these.

Cameras have become very convenient to use, between apps that stitch panoramic or HDR photos in camera to apps that can publish photos from your cell phone camera directly to social media feeds. Even the most basic point and shoot cameras have some amazing features. Modest cameras selling for under $200 are jammed packed with all kinds of technological goodies to make photographic eye candy possible for the amateur photographer.

So where are all the great photographers and amazing images we're supposed to be seeing from all the glimmering generalities featured in the average camera anybody can afford nowadays? This brings me to my next topic of how to motivate yourself to capture great images once you buy yourself that dream setup you've always wanted.

39118366654_8786fa0a60_k.jpg(https://flic.kr/p/22AKRxu)

It is not obvious how sometimes the most simple images are in actuality some of the most complicated or difficult to capture.

Good photography is about timing as well as dedication to the pursuit of capturing the finest quality image the mind can achieve with the tools provided to a given photographer. Acquiring a Press Pass to a concert one month before the show or going out on the road to an exotic destination or traveling to a Frozen wilderness paradise is not something that is easily afforded on the average workers salary more then once or twice a year. Just the time it takes to get away from one's job to have the luxury to be able to capture images and execute proper post-processing color treatment for photos requires a serious commitment of time and a very sharp eye to distinguish between tones, composition and several other important elements like color balance and cropping.

Getting out of bed Before Sunrise to get to a location and capture a photo or hustling through traffic to get to an ideal Sunset spot sounds easy enough to do, try motivating yourself to get out of bed on the exact morning the elements you require for the perfect photo are going to happen. When regular life kicks in and all the obligations and responsibilities of a normal person's world are at hand, getting to a concert to get that photograph of an artist you love or making it to the botanical gardens to capture photographs of insects are not always easy to do with our busy schedule's.

The bottom line is there is no easy to motivate yourself beyond the obvious. Scheduling to go on a photoshoot when there is free time and sticking to the schedule is a good way to motivate yourself to follow through with a shoot regardless of how you're feeling about going to do the work when it actually comes time to setting out on your journey.

When you thought about buying a camera and dropping a few hundred bucks on a system you figured would have the features you need to best capture the kind images you like to see, I hope you didn't think that all those images would be captured from the passenger seat of a car or the balcony of an apartment building. Getting out and exploring the world is one of the main reasons photography is such an amazing past time, because getting to experience the journey is half the fun of actually getting to capture the photograph as demonstrated by the photographers I have chosen to highlight in the newest series of images I have curated for this post. In other words there is no magic bullet or perfect pill to take to help motivate oneself to exercise photography as often as possible other than to recognize that photography is many hours of hard work and dedication as previously mentioned, with the right attitude and approach to photography, amazing images become possible to capture.

Meet Brian Krip!

24810574917_83092231d8_k.jpg(https://flic.kr/p/DNqFx4)

When I first approached Brian to do an entry for this blog Brian seemed genuinely surprised I was considering his photos as a possibility for my entry and Brian actually mentioned " I am skeptical this is not some kind of bizarre scam" Brian describes himself as a "hobbyist" photographer and thought it was odd I would want his work on one of my posts. From my perspective when I was just a hobbyist photographer, my photographs weren't half as good as Brian's are and it wasn't until I spent a lot of energy over many years learning the art and skill of photography before I was able to exercise this level of skill and light and color control in my images from Brian's collection. I consider Brian to be very modest and humble new comer on the photography scene, I am grateful for a chance to be able to share Brian's work with the Steemit community and introduce Mr Krip to the site.

37418220210_3e155178bc_k.jpg(https://flic.kr/p/Z1waeL)

Brian's style is very natural and organic with Rich colors and fantastic composition. Brian's photography seems to focus on ambient landscape images which are perfectly set and properly framed.

Although Brian's collection is very short, I still wanted to add Brian's images to my post as I felt the quality of the images for a so-called hobbyist as Brian calls himself, are top quality from my perspective. I look forward to seeing the curve of Brian's creation in relation to photography as Brian's collection develops over the years.

36810024520_1f6a73ea68_k.jpg(https://flic.kr/p/Y5LZRb)

34333997416_7fc594a0fd_k.jpg(https://flic.kr/p/UiYHfG)

32911512551_7b1e056a9f_k.jpg(https://flic.kr/p/S9h74z)

Meet Christopher Soukup!

Christopher says he's looking for comments and constructive criticism for his work on his Flickr profile page. Looking over Christopher's portfolio it is a challenge to find any kind of criticism worth mentioning.

8638122808_e754cf1ff2_o.jpg(https://flic.kr/p/eajCXS)

Christopher's images have a perfect blend of light and composition as well as tones and and contrast bringing together fantastic images that remind me of looking at stills from a movie shoot. The kind of Stills that are used for the covers of movies or taken by the set photographer during a movie shoot that we get to see in profiles of how the movie was made after the fact.

39120573834_eaaab05c4c_o.jpg(https://flic.kr/p/22AXaEj)

Christopher's photograph collection consist of stunning black and white images that have fantastic detail and excellent tones.

The color images presented in Christopher's photo collection look like still photographs from a movie shoot, the moments and the subject seem to be perfectly placed the way one would expect to see from still images taken on the set a Hollywood film with an expensive budget.

8949072099_d313eccdff_k.jpg(https://flic.kr/p/eCNkmx)

12750114923_9c7021775c_o.jpg(https://flic.kr/p/kqFEXD)

9601415304_2ce08f4fa9_o.jpg(https://flic.kr/p/fCrLgb)

20569927745_07e60ec3c3_o.jpg(https://flic.kr/p/xkGfSD)

Meet Daniel Parent!

Daniel Parent is an amazing wildlife photographer who's portfolio has to be seen to be appreciated.

39809533512_f707ffd88c_k.jpg(https://flic.kr/p/23DQgns)

38870700632_012860b566_k (1).jpg(https://flic.kr/p/22dSv4E)

the texture in the photography presented by Daniel is truly remarkable and when looking at some of the images it's as if you can reach out and touch the fur on one some of the animals being photographed. The point of focus and the quality of the detail in the portfolio Daniel presents are a great example of what motivation can accomplish when goals are properly set.

38154223441_17740ce599_k.jpg(https://flic.kr/p/218ynmD)

10019002506_40f470664d_o.jpg(https://flic.kr/p/ggm1ow)

It's pretty obvious from the collection of photographs presented, Daniel loves to get up close and personal with some of the subjects in his photos. I can only imagine what it must have been like for Daniel to be out on location staring down the barrel of a camera looking at three wolves through the lens of his camera, what kind of a rush that feeling must have been. Anyone who has ever tried to capture a photograph of their pet knows how hard animal can be to work with let alone animals from out in the wild.

Cheers to photographer Daniel Parent and his amazing portfolio of wildlife images you should check out if you have a chance.

33901926751_6e65b9955e_k.jpg(https://flic.kr/p/TDNeGt)

38008869092_a5d4414689_k.jpg(https://flic.kr/p/ZUHozb)

34819830875_776f750b55_k.jpg
(https://flic.kr/p/V3UJBD)

36661257594_88ca9b45ee_k.jpg(https://flic.kr/p/XRCwCb)

I appreciate the above three mentioned photographers for allowing me to blog about there portfolio and share some of their work. I look forward to seeing these photographers on Steemit should they discover as most of us have how fantastic and supportive the Steemit community can be towards comunity artist and content creators alike.

I want to take a second to thank you for checking out this post and I look forward to reading the feedback as usual as do the photographers who's images I've shared on this post.

What is your favorite image from this series?

As a photographers what motivates you to get out into the field and capture images?

Do you have an idea for a future photography topic you would like to see me cover?

Written by STEEMIT user: Jazmin Million

Sort:  
There are 4 pages
Pages

Well done .. inspiring
Amazing talents
Thanks for sharing

Thank you so much for the introduction
These pictures are beautiful
It's really wonderful, beautiful and amazing

All stunning images! Thank you for the encouragement and inspiration. You inspire many ordinary people to take great photos. Keep it up!

I have always wanted to take great photos but you got me right there. You mentioned all my problems like getting up early and going to a location for photoshoot. I'm glad I saw this post.

amazing post my steemit frineds wish you good luk

Beautiful. The colors look stunning.

This comment has received a 0.44 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @steem69.

for me, all 3 photographers have their own style and my personal favorite on this blog is Brian, it's just my personal taste in photography.
a big thumbs up and a resteem from my side @jazminmillion to support your work. cheers...

I'll do the same @jazminmillion (resteemit)

Love you all carry on go ahed

Woah love these pictures man the one I enjoyed the most was the one with the wolves so cute!
I used to be really into photography and I am looking to get back in to it as I live in a beautiful country (Scotland).
Maybe someday you will see some of my photos on here :)

Those are magical creatures. Amazing photos.

Wow, all three of those profiles have extraordinary photographs represented.

Incredible for so called "amateurs".

I agree on the topic of this post. You got to commit yourself to going out and finding the perfect shot. Nothing in life will simply fall into your lap besides debt.

Flying the drone in unique environments, trying to create different angles of perspective not found on the ground, and using the color enhancing tech on-board already, I do my best. Perhaps a bit of research into those things you mention above, the post processing color treatment and different parameters used to describe a photo will help me become a bit more, "professional".

Great photos... My favorite would be the fourth photo, of the Golden Gate bridge being enveloped by fog, by Brian Krip.

What a Neat use of a DRONE !

And I agree w/ you on performing Research (both of Technique, & also research of the Subject ) - the more, the better [for INSIGHT into yr subject ]

Thank you! If you think so, come check out blog at your own will, lots of different aerials.

These pictures are captivating. No need to meet the photographers personally, just by looking their works we can tell that they are professionals on their own styles. I can't find words to describe the pictures. I salute them for being so creative. Their techniques are superb and truly remarkable. Are these copyrighted? Im planing to change my cover image. Ha,ha,ha. Steem more pictures friends!!

Great post very well explained. Upvote and Follow you so that I never missed a post from you.

Request you to be a part of Noble cause, please visit our blog @beinghuman.steem this blog is created to help poor children. Do share your opinion once you visit and please try to be a part of it. Thanks

https://steemit.com/beinghuman/@beinghuman.steem/being-human-they-need-your-help

I followed your page and the keep up the work you are doing!

Thanks @jazminmillion, if possible please be a helping hand for @beinghuman.steem so that I can brinh smile on more innocent faces.

Some photographers are not world popular by their names. But their photos worth to Billions. I just found in this post.

Brian , Christopher and Daniel.

Waiting for more photos like these. @jazminmillion

These are true words!! Thank you for all the time you spent in writing this post :-)

I also wrote an entry about my motivation to study and keep on photographing, maybe someone wants to check it out :-) :

https://steemit.com/photography/@koenigsnadja/photography-and-why-i-can-t-stop-with-it

great pictures!

these images really relaxes your mind one should explore the nature and relax himself. Exploring nature the human race should understand that God has made the world so beautiful an

You've published a novel of information here. I bet some cameras are being turned on right now!

I would love to imagine that, if people can just kick themselves in the butt ;p

It is a busy world out there, that is for sure, but when an art strikes a person the compulsion is almost alive. .... that and well... cameras are crazy today!

I like the Canon Powershot Elph 360. I'm a point and shoot guy, and it fits the pocket.
Whats yours?

I am a D5 fan at the moment but I am being super snobby a cell phone works really well too ;p

All the photos are extremely beautiful.
My favourite images from this series are of Brian's and Christopher's images. Both of them have clicked a brilliant beauty. This is according to my taste! Rest of the images are also pretty enough. :)

According to me, the beautiful weather helps me to motivate the most to get out into ghe field and capture the best images of beautiful nature!
(sometimes i do photography just to cheer up my mood when I'm low!)

I think the next topic for photography which you should cover, must be about "best weather to capture photographs" or "best camera to capture awesome photos"(Most probably in low budget category so that those who cannot afford expensive cameras, can grab these less expensive yet awesome cameras) :)

Thanks for sharing this article and interacting with us. @jazminmillion

Nature is the most beautiful thing in life

What a beautiful world we live in!

The 4th pic looks like it is Golden Gate Bridge (S.F. Calif). Really like that one, as well as the wonderful Shot of the Wolves (4th One up from the BOTTOM).

And all the pictures Daniel Parent has of the various #BIRDS - the Owl, the Hummingbird, the Toucan & the Duck etc are FANTASTIC !

Thanks 4 sharing !
Will RE-STEEM

Do more of these Posts, pls ☻

I am impressed...the quality and clarity, i guess what you said about the amazing bells and whistles on even cheaper cameras, is forcing photographers to find more creative distinction. Greater technology pushes the mind to greater creative ways to tweak it to one's own style.
Thats what I see in most of these shots...its not that your taking a photo, its the how and the way you shoot it, the eye is the first lense;)
Informative post
Brilliant Photography
Lynn

The hype is always real when I see @jazminmillion in my feed. The expectations are pretty high.
I never got disappointed.
Fantastic photos, great writing and message, as always!

I went to your blog to like a post but you have none ;p

I hope you make a few soon ;D Talk soon man, I just followed you in case...

I'll make a new account dedicated for photography soon. I just bought my first ever camera because of you, sir. :P Let's see how it workes out. This is my first ever picture, don't beat me up for it.
Jena.jpg

Great article and thank you for sharing the different perspectives. I am not by any means a photographer, but I believe that perspective is a vital and complex part of photographic composition and is something that can only be learnt with experience.

Very well said!

To see such wonderful portfolios of different talented photographers here on this platform really do inspire me. Although, I am not a professional photographer nor do I own any advanced digital camera, I do love to take photos and simply do mobile photography. I've learned a few tips and tricks on how to take good photos from one of the classes I attended back in college, and have also learned the basics through a workshop, and now having been moved by this post through the encouraging words, that 'time' and 'dedication' is as essential as the skill you have in photography, I am more challenged (in a good way) to pursue this hobby and develop it more.

You’re doing a great job bringing and attracting artists in here!! About the motivation- I always say that if person is not doing something, then the willingness to do this is just not enough- and no one can change it.

Ty for the comment, have a great week!

Really awesome post. I am a teacher at a secondary school and I teach a class called capture that Image. Some of the things you have spoked about in the post are really helpful.

Thanks

I really appreciate at that! Have a great week ;D

Nice tips and pictures selections!

You sure do have a great collection of photographs as examples of the quality of photographs you're speaking about.

Of all of them, however, the collection on sunset are simply exhilarating and mind-blowing. They are clean, clear, professional, panoramic and indeed imbued with a life of their own. When photographs come alive, they command immediacy. That's the winning point in your collection generally.

Keep up the good works.

Very kind words, ty sir!

Learning so much from you, ma bro. I have you to thank for that too.

Doesn’t get more alive than this!

These are all amazingly beautiful photos.... kudos to the photographers who may I say are great artists in taking these shots.

Great article (oh, it´s called "post" here, not article, I think. Anyway: Great!). Especially in the first parts I find exactly these thoughts and, well, insufficiencies I often have to fight with myself. It´s a pleasure reading. And, of course, wonderful photographs. Enjoy your day! Rolf

The Owl is my favourite image from your post. Getting up before dawn and driving to the city centre got me this image
Having my camera with me most of the time got me this quirky image yesterday not the best photography but its interesting. Let me know what you think

They are great photos. the image speaks for itself, photography is an art.

May Steemit be a haven of talented photographers. Great initiative in inviting them to join Steemit! Thank you for your efforts.

It's all photos are amazing and beautiful colors . Specially evening with red sky I love it.
Thanks for sharing .

Namaste

Ty for the feed back, have a great week!

Beyond beautiful!!! Seeing those photos makes me wanna travel and shoot! Love the photos of Brian and Christopher, their landscapes are stunning! Thank you for sharing this and giving us inspiration. Keep posting!!

Some great shots there jazminmillion, I like your info Ive been using DSLRs for a long time, Last year I bought a Panasonic Lumix LX10, this is now my camera of choice as I can take it everywhere:-) this is a picture I took maybe yesterday https://steemit.com/colorchallenge/@djh/bali-s-iconic-flower

Wowwwww! These are some great images! Its amazing how much we miss in our everyday lives. some of these photos capture a literal second of time and show sooo much beauty that so many of us just walk past everyday. We really do live in a beautiful world. I enjoyed your post. Thank you.

Beautiful images once again jazmin! And great write up! Yeah Just made my second post showing more photography, would love your thoughts. Really digging the images you post :) following!

On it~

Impressive!

I never thought that photography like you've said needs hard work dedication and with the right attitude and approach...
I thought it was just an easy and simple job and the right quality of camera is advantage to have an outstanding photo.

those photos are really Amazing!

For a second I can't believe those pictures! They are very pretty and taken at the right time and spot man. Just love the reality of nature always and you have captured them with all the heart. Fell in love with the bird's collection profoundly. :-)

Keep it up and cheers!

Gorgeous shots. Love the humming birds especially and the owl.

Oh my goodness your shots are really something. Thank you for sharing and striving to make steemit even more awesome!

Wow, I am speechless and have no words to describe this picture, it really reflecting the magical effects of nature and these are not less than any precious ornaments. Thanks for sharing @jazminmillion

I like this first one and the one in which wolf are fighting and the 3rd one which is showing the sun rises.
Thanks for sharing these beautiful images.
I appriciate all the photographers who have taken these picture.
great work.

Great article as usual @jazminmillion. I think a lot about photography is just getting out there and taking pictures. You often have to stumble across the right subject and be somewhere at the right time, but it takes a lot of effort and commitment to keep putting yourself in those positions (and many disappointments for that matter). Thanks for the inspiration! I will pick up my camera and carry on ;)

wow! dear i really like and love your complete creativity level. thanks for giving us some precious information about the choosen topic.

I absolutely love these photos. I am trying to get into Photography so I am using my phone for now to start out and save up money for a really good camera that can zoom in to capture even the smallest of things.

SO you dig macro stuff, cool, good luck man, keep saving it is worth it ;D

I will try my best. Maybe soon.

Hold up..this shouldn't be a competition. Brian krip got the best photography really is outta sight. Like he was in the cloud when he took those photos. Though Christopher's 3rd to last picture is really amazing the cloud covering of that bridge like structure .for daniel parents alot of people who are alittle good in photo capture can make same,put where it got exceptional was the owl view capture. It was awesome and deep . Thanks @jazminmillion for sharing this awesome captures from these great person. We will want more from other person too and get the comparison straight.🖒🖒🖒🖒

Not so much a comp, I just like to get a sense of peoples personal taste.

Great photos seem to be about timing especially when it comes to taking photos of random scenes and people that aren't posing for you.

Great Sharing! What keep me motivated for keep on taking good and unique photo for people or my client, is as a wedding photography, sometime when you get to bumped into your ex-client after few years and they're still very appreciated for what you did for them, since you're their wedding photographer that time by helping them to catching the most important and wonderful moment once in a life in their wedding ceremony, their smile on the face will never be faded away!!

As I do agree #Photographer is some sort of Magician that can freezed your youth and happiness moment forever in your eyes while you looking back to the photos. :)

Pictures are astonishing. I m also taking pics for company catalog. We are making roads, infrastructures and etc... But after a time, my pics are repeating. I m looking for advice how to make pics which not repeating themselfs.

these pics are just wonderful .. amazing

Unbelievable sunsets/sunsrises, very inspiring! Thank you very much!

There are 4 pages
Pages