You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Social media, can you make me better? Or do you steal my time?

in #life6 years ago

I've noticed that there are two different times I'll post on social media. I'll use Instagram for this example. I hardly use it, I just hit my 50th post this week after using it for several years. It's a decent way to look at all of the people I've met throughout my life, see what they're up too, see what they're celebrating, and my favorite; seeing where they are in the world. To a lot of my friends it comes natural to post a beautiful picture on the 'gram, but it's a lot harder for me and others. For instance, I went out drinking with my sister and some of her friends and they were all taking beautiful pictures and posting them all over social media. I was the odd man out, had someone take my phone and snap a terrible looking picture of me swigging straight from the vodka bottle. ~~30 likes. Last week Monday I went out paddle boarding with a friend and took a little risk and brought my phone on the lake. The main intent was to take pictures of her for Instagram. When we were taking a break I took a few selfies of me laying down, cutting half of my face and showing the skyline behind me. I didn't try to take a very nice picture, and I usually don't. But I got lucky and had my highest liked solo picture (one with just me, not a friend or family member) of all time. I wasn't trying to force it and I already was having a good time on the lake with my friend.

Sorry that was kind of a tangent but my point is, you may be behind social media for a long time, but think about the things you're doing to be the reason you make a post on SM. So I may be on social media a lot, but I'm using it for new ideas that I can do both in real life, AND to post on social media. I think if we intertwine these things we might be spending our time a little bit more.

Sort:  

Hey, Thanks for the opinion. I mean, if u can get or give something valuable of course it's not a waste of time. Only in this way I'm on the Social media side. All the time, need to know what you want , what you need and what you can give for others. I'm glad, that I'm on Steemit. It makes me a better person