Lies Abide in Our Childhood | Welcome To The Real World

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Growing up as children, we had no worries; no bills to pay, no target to walk towards, no strategic planning for the future, nothing complex at all. We had no grudges against anyone and we bonded easily with everybody and everything- how liberal life was then. Many of my friends from childhood then as we grew into adolescence left, we began to discover ourselves, or should I say form ourselves. We looked at people we began developing mindset and friendship now became people of the same value, mind, vision and goal. Then we got into college and I can't believe how streamlined my associates are. A forty year old man told me there would come a time when I would crave for liberty for myself, a time when I would only want to be by myself, a loner.


No one was black, white, wealthy or poor- we simply were just children
But what is responsible for this cause? It has always been and would always be. It is due to the fact of the complexity of our being. Values are in depth substances, visions are personal, aging is necessary and the feeling of belonging to a group is one of the things that made us social animals. Socialization is now based on personal interests and benefits. It's not so intriguing how people suddenly become your friends because they have something to acquire from you or through you. They are friend by benefit.

As life began to unfold before my intellect, I discover I was lied to by ignorance of my childhood. I was robbed of the two sides of a coin. The cartoons lied to me and so also did my parent. They promised me of how special I am to them but coming into the real world, I am not that special. I am just me, the jewel only prominent value only within the walls of my father's court.

There were times the media lied to us that we were the leaders of tomorrow, even our teacher told us then. But what I can deduce, we are no longer in yesterday- we are the future compared to those times and I am not a leader yet. It's frustrating that those leaders then are still in power now, I even recently discovered they were in power even before yesterday- They've been leaders ever since the dawn of time. I have heard a lot of lies, most were not intentional, some were target towards motivation but well, it didn't work.


Childhood was fun, ignorance keeps you void of the real situation
Our childhood was as innocent as a pure and empty cellulose sheet of paper. Our parent and society then started to write on them. Now that our book lies beneath a pen in our hands, we can't erase the previous notes, there is nothing device-able but to continue the existing infrastructure. Education and media really did a great job molding us into who are now, and who we shall be; facebook, twitter, youtube, nollywood, all of them.

Lies abide in our childhood, you are not that special, dreams don't always come through, good guys sparsely win, talent don't really mean success, government have skeletons in concealed cupboards, batman doesn't exist, education doesn't mean financial security, studying medicine is not job security, you are not more different or special than the next person next to you, your boss wont think your smile is charming and definitely wont save you from his trouble, things don't happen swiftly - they take time and might never happen, you can't please everyone. All are lies, and some go way deeper affecting the emotional structure of individuals making them shy, timid, indecisive, people-pleasing etc.

Welcome to the real world brethren which is not found in the screen but in real life, they are not in imaginations- oh, imaginations, the land of escape from this real fucked-up world. The world you have to take charge of you life because no one will, they are busy trying to figure our theirs. Welcome to the real world of unexplained hatred from people. Welcome to the real world where lies abide in our childhood, we were never told what to expect in the real world.


Thanks for stopping by, please follow me @jiossm as I place before you fun and engaging articles. Thanks a lot, to you!!