You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Effective is Our Prison System?

in #life7 years ago

I live in the Philippines, and my Dad was a prison guard and one of those who "knew what they were signing up for". He was stabbed to death by a gang of prisoners during an escape when I was 7 years old.

It really put our family in a bad situation, because he was the provider of us 4 kids. Oddly (or fortunately, depending on how you look at it), back then it was traditional for a spouse to be given the job of the husband in some circumstances, so my Mother ended up having the same job as prison guard in his place.

It felt surreal looking at my Dad in a coffin with stab wounds all over him. They never captured the prisoners.

Resteemed.

Sort:  

that is tragic, very sorry to hear that
the Philippines is definitely going through some difficult times as it transitions into a developed country